MLB

CC Sabathia: If I’m done with the Yankees, I’m good with it

CC Sabathia’s path back to the pinstripes might not be clear.

Sabathia, speaking during a podcast for The Players’ Tribune, offered his thoughts on the Yankees deciding to part ways with former manager Joe Girardi and what the future might now hold for the left-handed pitcher.

“I think the news the other day was just kind of shocking considering how the season went and how we finished,” Sabathia said. “It was a great run that he had. Ten years coaching the Yankees, we won a World Series, we had a lot of wins. He coached a lot of Hall of Famers, some big moments.

“I feel like me and Joe was always good because he was always concerned about my family. And that’s the biggest thing for me. He’s always asking about ‘Little C’ and my wife, and I always loved him for that. It felt good that he took an interest in my family, so we always got along in that respect.”

Sabathia, 37, went 14-5 this season for the Yankees with a 3.69 ERA, which was his lowest since 2012. He’s now a free agent, and previously has stated a desire to return to the club he’s spent the past nine seasons with.

He might still feel that way, but it doesn’t seem like Sabathia will be crestfallen if his career continues elsewhere.

“If my run is up here, like Joe [Girardi], I had a great time,” Sabathia said. “I was here for nine years with some of the best players on the planet, won a World Series, [had the] greatest fans ever. I was a Yankee. I can say that. But no, I’m good with it.

“It’s weird, I’m good with baseball however it shakes out. If I’m done next year, if I’m done the year after. It is what it is. This is all borrowed time for me. This is extra. I’m just having fun.”

Sabathia has 237 wins in his career, which is second to Bartolo Colon (240) among active players. He won the AL Cy Young with the Indians in 2007, the ALCS MVP with the Yankees in 2009 and has been an All Star six times.

He also had some thoughts on what the Yankees should be looking for in the next manager.

“Somebody that’s a good communicator with the players,” said Sabathia, who started the Yankees’ series-clinching win over the Indians and season-ending loss against the Astros. “Somebody that you can talk to about anything at any time — especially with these young guys. Somebody that these guys can really talk to and trust.”

Whether said manager has Sabathia to rely on next season remains to be determined.