Lifestyle

How Ralph Lauren’s daughter indulges around the world

Dylan Lauren (daughter of designer Ralph Lauren) has traveled the world in search of sugary sensations.

Dylan’s Candy Bar, her chain of candy shops, carries more than 7,000 types of treats, from English Lion chocolate bars to Japanese panda cookies.

As the chain celebrates its Sweet 16 anniversary, Lauren dishes on her favorite dessert and bonbon emporiums from LA to Tel Aviv.

Paris

A.Rinuccini

“My mom took me to Angelina on our first mother-daughter trip, so this spot is extra sweet for me. My mom is a chocoholic, so this elegant cafe was an important stop during our travels. She introduced me to their amazing chocolate croissants and the thickest hot chocolate! This place gave me such a sugar rush, I could run up and down the Champs-Elysées three times!”

Tel Aviv

Max Brenner

“I love the way Max Brenner conjures up memories of the chocolate river in my favorite movie, ‘Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory.’ The desserts are over-the-top, decadent and aesthetically inspiring. On splurge days, I indulge in the chocolate pizza, which is slathered with hazelnut milk chocolate, white-chocolate shavings and toasted marshmallows. It’s absolutely divine!”

London

Alamy Stock Photo

Hamleys is one of my favorite toy stores in the world, and its ‘retail-tainment’ concept inspired me to open Dylan’s Candy Bar 16 years ago! One floor is dedicated to a candy shop that offers a mix of European favorites of mine, like 3-yard licorice laces and wine gums. Hamleys also has interactive stations like Spun Candy, and ShakeTastic has some of the best Cadbury chocolate mixed in shakes. My favorites are the Cadbury Creme Egg and the Double Decker milkshakes.”

Tokyo

Alamy Stock Photo

Toraya is the oldest confectionery company in Japan, having been founded in the early 16th century, making this destination a must-see. I love how the Japanese here take so much pride in their heritage and celebrate the beauty of the changing seasons through traditional Japanese confections, or wagashi [below]. They craft these delicious delicacies in shapes like cherry blossoms and fall leaves. What’s even better is the confection is made of all-natural ingredients, like azuki bean, agar-agar and rice, perfectly complementing my favorite green tea.”

Los Angeles

Barton G

“Now this is the best place to go for a celebration. Every aspect of Barton G.’s food presentation is so cleverly thought out, making it better than any show. The desserts are entertainment in themselves — truly spectacular! I especially adore the special pink cotton candy that forms Marie Antoinette’s wig and the delicious Treasure Chest that comes loaded with gold chocolate coins and generous scoops of ice cream, drizzled with gold leaf.”