NFL

Why Erin Andrews refuses to get political

Don’t expect Erin Andrews to weigh in on the political climate in the near future.

Speaking on Sports Illustrated’s “Off the Board with Jimmy Traina” podcast Wednesday, the Fox Sports reporter shared why she has stayed in her lane when politicking is concerned.

“I can’t deliver the news that Aaron Rodgers is done for the season without people commenting, ‘Oh, she looks like she’s so sad.’ What am I supposed to do, stand on my head and tell dirty jokes?” Andrews said. “So for me to come out and say, ‘This is what I believe in politics, this is what I believe about what’s going on in the NFL.’ Nobody wants to hear that from me.”

With over 3 million followers on Twitter, Andrews, 39, said her followers shouldn’t be looking to her for updates on the happenings around the world.

“I’m not educated in a lot of what is being talked about with politics the way that people on CNN or Fox News [are],” Andrews said. “You shouldn’t be listening to that from me.

“Those people have studied politics, you know what I studied? I woke up this morning, I watched ‘NFL Live.’ That’s what I feel comfortable talking about. I don’t feel comfortable talking about politics, and I don’t want to preach to anyone about it.”

Andrews’ comments come on the heels of Roger Goodell’s press conference during the NFL owners’ meeting Wednesday in Manhattan, where the embattled commissioner addressed the media about the national anthem protests. He said he wants to “continue to work to try to put [the protests] at zero.”

While political insight is off Andrews’ radar, reality TV certainly isn’t.

“If you want me to preach to you about the ‘Real Housewives of New Jersey,’ I am down, I am fully involved,” Andrews said.