MLB

Sandy Alderson threatens to fire the Terry Collins leakers

PHILADELPHIA — Sandy Alderson is “very disappointed” in reports that surfaced in recent days indicating his manager lost control of the clubhouse and may have been responsible for overusing pitcher Jeurys Familia to the point the reliever developed a blood clot that necessitated surgery.

The Mets general manager, speaking before his team faced the Phillies on Saturday, stopped short of defending Terry Collins but said the timing and context of the reports was unfortunate.

“To the extent that the information came from players, I am extraordinarily disappointed with their willingness to talk without attribution,” Alderson said. “To the extent the information came from the front office, I was exceptionally disappointed. And if I were to know who that person was, that person would be terminated immediately.”

Alderson exonerated Collins on the charge the manager mismanaged Familia to the point he needed surgery.

“I wouldn’t agree to any of the substance of that conversation,” Alderson said. “With respect to injuries, we continue to look at how those injuries occur both in terms of usage, medical care and overall conditioning and will continue to look at it.”

Collins is expected to be told in the coming days his contract will not be renewed for next season. Alderson declined to address specifically the nature of Collins’ relationship with the front office.

“Any seven-year relationship has its ups and downs,” Alderson said. “I’ve been married for 47 years. Doesn’t mean my wife and I have agreed on everything. Doesn’t mean I haven’t slammed the door and walked out and taken a walk from time-to-time. But ultimately the tenure and success he’s had to me speaks for itself. There are always going to be disagreements from time to time. That’s inevitable if you have more than one person thinking creatively and constructively about what’s best for the organization.”

How much is Alderson to blame for what might be a poor clubhouse culture?

“I am the leader of this group. I feel responsible for every aspect of its operation,” he said. “In particular in those areas where we may fall short.”