NBA

‘Walking bucket’ Beasley is tired of not getting enough respect

Michael Beasley is hardly lacking bragadoccio these days. He calls himself “a walking bucket’’ and thinks he’ll score a lot of them at Madison Square Garden because he’s “always done well with pressure.’’

Beasley, a 6-foot-9 forward, signed with the Knicks on a one-year deal last week for the veteran’s minimum, possibly as Carmelo Anthony’s replacement. He hasn’t had the career befitting a No. 2 pick but blames it on playing time not commensurate with his production.

The former Kansas State sensation is tired of not sticking up for himself. Beasley told The Post he doesn’t get nearly the credit he deserves and feels defenders are “scared’’ facing him 1-on-1. Last season in Milwaukee, Beasley averaged 9.6 points in 16.7 minutes.

“I’ll bring what they saw in college,’’ Beasley told The Post in a robust phone interview Friday from his home in Washington D.C. “I just need the opportunity to show that. Look at my nine-year career, I’ve always been close to a point a minute. I’ve always been a walking bucket. Nobody can stop me, hasn’t stopped me my last nine years. Every time I’ve touched the ball, the defender’s scared. I’m at the point of my career I’m just tired of not getting the acknowledgement of being who I am.

“I’ve always been the quiet, not-stand-up-for-myself-kind-of-guy. Not being disrespectful. But I want my respect. For the last nine years, I’ve been a walking bucket, man. Anytime you want a point, I’ll give you a point, no matter what the circumstances, who the player is defending me.’’

The Knicks are his sixth NBA team after drafted by Miami in 2008 following his Kansas State freshman season when he averaged 26.2 points and 12.4 rebounds. Beasley’s NBA career average is 12.6 points in 23 minutes.

A series of marijuana incidents and being scrutinized under the lens of a No. 2 pick, Beasley suggests, has prevented the 28-year-old old from getting his due on the court.

“It’s exactly the reason,’’ Beasley said. “People meet me. First thing they say: “You’re totally different than I thought you are. A large part of my career is due to perception, what people think what I am or should be. My past is my past. They keep harping on it. Everyone wants me to grow up and learn from my past, learn from my mistakes. But you guys should do the same thing. I’m years removed from any marijuana incident or incident period. But it’s all anybody speaks about. I’ve grown up. Now it’s time for you to grow up.’’

Hailing from Washington D.C., Beasley has known Anthony, the Baltimore-product, since he was 12 years old. They’ve spoken plenty across his career but not now. Anthony and the Knicks are mutually seeking a divorce by the season opener. Beasley is afraid to reach out.

“He has a lot going on,’’ Beasley said. “I don’t think adding anything on his plate would be the smartest thing to do right now. As far as if I want him to be here, who wouldn’t want to play with one of the best basketball players? I think he’s underrated, been disrespected but me personally, who wouldn’t want to play with him?’’

If Anthony is traded for future assets, Beasley’s scoring role skyrockets because the Knicks will sorely lack proven offense. They already miss Derrick Rose, who averaged 18 points per game last season and signed with the Cavaliers.

“I’ve always done well with pressure, always done well with awkward situations,’’ Beasley said. “Not to say it’s awkward but it’s not a usual one to say the least.’’

Michael Beasley says he has grown up, is tired of hearing about his past. (Paul J. Bereswill)Paul J. Bereswill

Beasley didn’t want to return to the Bucks, he said, because of playing-time issues under coach Jason Kidd. His minutes per game was second-lowest of his career.

“Milwaukee got a nice young core – unfortunately, the bulk of their corps play my position,’’ Beasley said. ‘Minutes for me, there just wasn’t what I wanted to see. Not that I’m not interested in helping the young guys, but I didn’t feel comfortable watching 30-plus minutes of basketball a night. I think I’ve deserved more minutes than I’ve gotten. Going forward, I feel I’m good enough and proven myself enough to not watch more than half the game every night.’’

Knicks assistant coach Kurt Rambis coached Beasley in the triangle offense with the Timberwolves in 2010-11, giving him a career-high 73 starts. Rambis phoned the free agent in mid-July. It’s an indication some triangle principles could remain in Jeff Hornacek’s new attack.

“You can thank Kurt for getting the ball rolling for me in in New York,’’ Beasley said. “I told him I’d love to play there. He said he’d make a phone call.’’

Defense, according to scouts, has always been Beasley’s Achilles’ heel but he says it’s an unfair criticism.

“Kevin Durant never scored 40 points on LeBron James?,’’ Beasley said. “Like Golden State isn’t running 140 points on everyone and Houston too. … It’s only a problem when I play defense. I’m always watching half the game. I’ve never had a chance to play defense a whole game to be good at it. I’ve never had a chance to play a whole game and let the game manifest itself.”

Beasley admits to being “a little nervous” but he’s used to change, noting seven high schools and “always living out of a suitcase.’’

“It’s a big city with a lot of lights,’’ he says.

But he still has lots of confidence.

“Me being on a big stage before so many people will bring the best out of me,’’ he said. “I’m looking forward to it. I hope everyone else is looking forward to it. I want to play fun basketball and bring winning basketball back to New York.’’