NBA

Isaiah Whitehead’s charity day proof he’s ‘not going anywhere’

Being able to play in his hometown is a luxury Nets guard Isaiah Whitehead does not take for granted.

On Sunday, he hosted his third annual Giveback Day at Coney Island, consisting of pick-up hoops for dozens of young ballers starting at age 10, plus free haircuts and more.

A new court was constructed for the event, with the message, “One Love, One Brooklyn,” printed across the middle.

The jerseys paid tribute to Whitehead’s former coach at Lincoln High, Jermaine Brown, who died in 2014 of a brain aneurysm at 33 years old. The back of each jersey read, “RIP Maine.”

“He’s basically the reason why I’m the player I am now,” Whitehead told The Post. “Everything I do in basketball, everything I do everywhere, it’s definitely all about him.”

The Nets traded for Whitehead the night of the 2016 draft, making his jump from Seton Hall to the NBA that much more special. And now, with the additions of D’Angelo Russell and Allen Crabbe, he’s competing with a young, packed backcourt.

“Hopefully we all play together and win some more games,” said Whitehead, who averaged 7.4 points, 2.5 rebounds and 2.6 assists as a rookie. “That’s the ultimate goal.”

The Nets went 20-62 last season and have not had a winning season since 2013-14.

Isaiah Whitehead poses with kids attending his third annual Giveback Day in Brooklyn on Sunday.Anthony J. Causi

In a recent Instagram Live video, Jeremy Lin said: “We’re making the playoffs. I don’t care what anybody else says to me.”

“That’s Jeremy just being Jeremy,” Whitehead said with a smile. “In the NBA, you never know. … I think that’s why it’s a great league.”

Whitehead’s mother, Ericka Rambert, said she is thankful to have her son in Brooklyn.

“It means a lot to me,” she said. “It’s a blessing.”

Rambert never misses a home game and made it clear that for Whitehead’s family, giving back to the community is an integral part of the equation.

“It’s great [to be with Brooklyn] because I come here all the time,” Whitehead said. “I just try to be here as much as possible, just to show them that I’m still here, and I’m not going anywhere.”