George Willis

George Willis

NFL

Ben McAdoo smart to give JPP this unexpected day off

There are no guarantees in football, especially when it comes to injuries. The Giants were reminded of that Wednesday afternoon when head coach Ben McAdoo gave defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul a day off to rehab, only to see wide receiver Sterling Shepard leave practice early with an apparent sprained ankle.

Shepard’s injury is not believed to be a long-term problem. Giving Pierre-Paul the day off is all about long-term maintenance, as the organization tries to get the star defensive end ready for the 2017 season. Pierre-Paul, 28, hasn’t played a full 16-game season since 2014 and has been hampered by injuries over the past three seasons.
“After studying the information and the data and the history of the player, I felt it was best for JPP to take a day and do some rehab and get ready for tomorrow,” McAdoo said.

Giving an eight-year veteran like Pierre-Paul a day off is not uncommon in the NFL. But the choice of day was interesting in that the Giants were in full pads for the first time this training camp. It normally would be a day for the practice to become more intense.

Pierre-Paul was ready to compete, but was told by McAdoo before practice to spend the day rehabbing and resting. He watched from the sidelines, wearing a Giants hoodie and blue leggings.

“Coach pulled me out,” Pierre-Paul said. “He’s doing what’s best for the team and what’s best for me. You can’t fight it. Nothing is wrong with me. As much as I want to be out there, they take precautions. I understand it. I’ll be out there tomorrow.”

Pierre-Paul spent part of the practice shadowing defensive coordinator Steve Spagnuolo, asking questions about each play called during team drills.

“It’s just about learning the game and going over the calls and making sure I know them,” Pierre-Paul said.

The Giants are wise to proceed cautiously with Pierre-Paul. He missed the final four games last year after suffering a sports hernia injury that required surgery. He was having a solid season to that point, collecting seven sacks and forcing three fumbles over 12 games. It was enough for the Giants to sign him to a four-year $62 million contract during the offseason.

He insists he is healthy, but still is rehabbing the hernia injury as a precaution.

“I just want to keep rehabbing it to make it stronger,” Pierre-Paul said.

Taking recovery time has become a focus in the NFL as teams try to find ways to keep players healthy and productive. Training camp isn’t the two-a-days slugfest it was two decades ago.

“The main thing is to stay healthy this year,” said Pierre-Paul, who missed the first eight games of the 2015 season after a fireworks injury during the previous offseason mangled his right hand. “I feel like what coach did today was a big help. As much as I want to be out there with my teammates, sitting on the sidelines and seeing things helps me to know the game mentally.”

Other veterans such as defensive tackle Damon “Snacks” Harrison, cornerback Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie and receiver Brandon Marshall likely will get selective days to rest, though McAdoo vowed: “We’re going to be very consistent,” as in they plan to address each player on a case-by-case basis. “We’re going to treat every player differently.”

Pierre-Paul doesn’t mind. He has a big contract, plenty of help on defense and a real chance at getting another Super Bowl ring.

“There have been ups and down in my career,” he said. “At the end of the day, I’ve managed. The organization loves me, the fans love me, I love the fans and I love the organization. All I know is Giants football. I’ll be ready by game one.”

That’s what the Giants are hoping, too.