Metro

Starving dog rescued after being found in dumpster

Courtesy of Jose Lopez

A heartless cur left a malnourished dog in a Brooklyn dumpster.

Construction workers found the skin-and-bones pooch in a fenced-in trash receptacle at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday outside a Walgreens at 1134 East New York Ave. in Brownsville.

“At first, I thought it was a cat, then I saw this little dog. It looked scared,” said José Lopez, 53, who found the pup when he went to toss garbage into the dumpster.

“I have a rescue dog. I love animals. It breaks my heart. It’s not a good thing to see.”

The canine appeared malnourished, and her ribs were jutting out from her rail-thin frame, photos show.

She was wearing a leash but had no tags and does not appear to be micro-chipped, rescuers said.

Lopez alerted workers inside the store, and they called police, he said.

Cops let Lopez hand the dog over to his friend Thomas Brosnan, who runs an animal shelter called Best Friends Rescue with his girlfriend Rita Accardi out of their Elmont, LI, home.

The dog, which they have not named, is a female pit-bull-Labrador mix that appears to be about 6 months old and is dangerously underweight at about 20 pounds, Brosnan said.

“No way that’s a healthy weight for a dog that age,” he said. “She should be double that — between 35 and 40 pounds.

“I was sick to my stomach when the guys told me where they found her.”

By Tuesday afternoon, Brosnan had received 10 calls from people interested in adopting the dog, he said.