NFL

Jets’ first-round draft pick already looks like a leader

One constant at Jets practices this spring has been the voice of Jamal Adams.

The rookie safety the Jets took with the No. 6-overall pick has lived up to his pre-draft billing as a vocal leader. On the field, he has been calling out formations pre-snap, identifying the offense and moving people around. On the sideline, he constantly is chatting with teammates and coaches.

“I’m just going to continue to be myself,” Adams said Thursday as the Jets wrapped up their minicamp. “I’ve always been that vocal leader. I’ve always been that guy that if we go through adversity, I’m always going to pick everybody up. It’s not over until it’s over. Every time I’m out there, I’m out there to compete. I’m out there to win and do whatever it takes.”

It is hard to discern much from spring practices, when players are not in pads and the emphasis is on teaching rather than competing, but Adams has looked impressive in his first weeks as a Jet. Beyond his vocal style, he has been flying around the field making plays. He seems to be around the ball constantly and has shown some versatility in his game — playing deep, blitzing and covering tight ends and receivers closely.

Adams said each day has gotten easier for him.

“I remember the first day, going out there I was looking around, thinking a lot,” Adams said. “Now, I’m moving around. I’m flying to the ball, calling out plays and just knowing the playbook. There’s still some wrinkles. There’s still some mistakes that I’ve made. I’m trying to get better each and every day. That comes with it. When we come back in training camp, everything has to be perfect. That’s what we’re striving for.”

Adams said he is looking forward to the six-week break before training camp. It is his first break since high school, he said. He plans on taking vacations with his family to Orlando and out West.

“It’s a great feeling. I haven’t had a summer vacation since high school,” he said.

His vacation won’t last long, though. The Jets are expecting big things from Adams when he gets back to work.