MLB

David Price vs. Boston media: It’s getting ugly quick

Miss those 10,000 fans in Tampa yet?

David Price’s $217 million Red Sox tenure is off to a brutal start, and the left-hander is fed up with his treatment by the Boston media. The lefty has cut down on his interviews in his second season with the team and his relationship with the press seems to be going past contentious quickly.

After Wednesday night’s loss to the Yankees, Price reportedly snapped at a Comcast SportsNet reporter. Then, after refusing an interview from a Boston Herald writer, Price said, “Write whatever the [expletive] you want. Just write it. Whatever the [expletive] you want.”

Price had told the Boston Globe earlier in the day he would only speak to reporters on days that he pitches.

“I’m not cautious,’’ he told the paper. “I’m the same me. I don’t talk to the media every day like I did last year and I guess I get blown up for that. But I was honest with everything they asked me last year and I get blown up for that.

David Price in his previous start against the Orioles.Getty Images

“So they did this to themselves. Talk to me on the day I pitch and that’s it. There are no more personal interviews. There are no more asking me questions on a personal level. That’s done.’’

Price had a decent first season in Boston, winning 17 games, but that came with a 3.99 ERA — a run and a half higher than he had the previous season, which he split between Toronto and Detroit. The critiques reached a fever pitch when he was shelled in Game 2 of the ALDS against the Indians en route to the Red Sox getting swept amid heavy expectations.

The Red Sox responded by acquiring Chris Sale from the White Sox in the offseason, essentially replacing Price as the ace of the rotation. Price then missed the start of this season with elbow soreness, and has been standoffish since his return. The 31-year-old has five years remaining after this one on his seven-year, $217 million contract.

Price would not say he regrets the decision to sign with the Red Sox, but pointed to his teammates as the only reason for enjoying his time in Boston.

“I know I’ve got 24 guys in this clubhouse and all our coaches rooting for me, and my family and my friends,” said Price, who started his career with the Rays and was an open critic of the team’s attendance woes. “That’s all I need. Whatever anybody else wants to do, that’s on them. I’m fine. I’m at peace.’’

Hours later, he was cursing at reporters.