Metro

Elderly woman jumps to her death from luxury building

A 70-year-old woman jumped to her death from a luxury building on the Upper East Side, police sources said.

The woman jumped from a 15th floor window at 10 Gracie Square, which is between East End Ave. and the FDR Drive near East 84th St., around 10:35 a.m. Sunday.

The woman’s body landed on the balcony of an 8th floor apartment, police said. She was pronounced dead at the scene.

“I was about to go for my run and I saw everyone staring up,” said nurse Claudine Dabay, 30.

“…I saw all this blood, and what I thought was limbs. The right leg looks severed.

“I’m a nurse, so I’ve seen this sort of thing before — but never outside a hospital.”

David Beckerman, 65, said the the gory scene above him didn’t look real when he first saw it and said he feels sorry for whoever lives in the 8th floor apartment and likely found the body on the balcony.

“I saw what looked to me like a dummy, like a fake TV thing, except there’s blood dripping down,” he said.

“It’s gruesome. We were saying, whoever was in that apartment at the apartment that someone landed on their patio, that’s got to be pretty horrible.”

The woman’s death is currently being investigated as a suicide.

The building the woman jumped from is the same one where CNN anchor Anderson Cooper’s brother, Carter Vanderbilt Cooper, committed suicide back in 1988.

Vanderbilt Cooper jumped from the 14th floor terrace of a penthouse that used to belong to his mother, heiress Gloria Vanderbilt.