NBA

Team that made Stephon Marbury a god no longer wants him

Beijing has honored him with a statue, museum, stamp and play. But no longer with a contract.

The Beijing Ducks agreed to terminate their pact with Stephon Marbury this weekend, making the 40-year-old former Knick and Net a free agent. Marbury had one more year left on his deal — after which he said he would retire — but disagreements about his role and salary caused the rift.

Marbury, who resuscitated his basketball career in the Chinese Basketball Association after falling out of the NBA in 2009, released a statement to his legions of overseas fans, saying he always will be a “Beijinger” and thanking them for giving him a “second life.��

Marbury, from Coney Island and a fixture on very bad Knicks teams from 2003 to 2008, said his contract stipulated he could be an assistant coach or player this season. The team wanted him to coach, and Marbury, who averaged 21.4 points, 5.5 assists and 4.0 rebounds last season, wanted to play.

“I am sure all the fans could tell from last season I’m still capable of playing. I was still able to lead the team to compete, even with an injured leg,” Marbury said in a message on Weibo. “I pulled my hamstring at the beginning of the season, and I still played and put everything on the court because that’s who I am.”

The two sides decided to rip up the deal, and Marbury signaled he would finish his career in China.

“I want to dedicate this last year of my career in the best way possible on the court for the CBA, then I’ll retire and work as a coach to help the basketball here for the rest of my life,” he said.

Marbury has become a near-deity in Beijing, where he had played since 2011. The city has bestowed countless honors on him, including giving him the Foreigner’s Permanent Residence Card last year, the Chinese equivalent of a green card that only about 5,000 foreigners have been given.

“No matter where I am, I am a Beijinger,” Marbury said. “Beijing is my home forever. Thank you all for the understanding.”