Metro

CUNY chancellor reveals throat cancer diagnosis

The chancellor of the City University of New York has been diagnosed with throat cancer, he announced to colleagues Friday in a letter.

James Milliken, who signed on as the head of CUNY in 2014, said the cancer was found during a routine checkup earlier this month.

“I am otherwise in excellent health, the cancer has not spread beyond the throat area, and my prognosis is very good,” he wrote.

Milliken will soon undergo seven weeks of radiation and chemotherapy at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and will continue working during that period.

“I will be meeting with the Board of Trustees, my senior staff and the college presidents in the coming days to plan for what I expect will be minimal disruption in our operations during the period of my treatment and recovery,” he said.