NBA

Nets’ Jeremy Lin replacement has had long trip to get here

Spencer Dinwiddie started this season in the D-League, but will end it as the Nets’ starting point guard for at least a few games in Jeremy Lin’s absence.

Not a bad climb for the former second-round pick of the Pistons in a little more than three months with the Nets after signing with the team as a free agent Dec. 8.

“A lot more understanding,” Dinwiddie said of the difference between his arrival and now. “We’ve done subtle shifts [to the offense]. A little less posting and a little more pick-and-roll, that’s helped me along in my adjustment process as well.”

That adjustment may be complete based on Dinwiddie’s performance against the Mavericks on Sunday.

After Lin left the game in the first quarter and never reentered, Dinwiddie took control of the offense and didn’t look back. The 6-foot-6 guard dropped in 18 points on 5-of-9 shooting and dished out seven assists, his most since recording eight Feb. 15 against the Bucks.

“He’s become a more aggressive and assertive player and that’s really helped him,” Nets coach Kenny Atkinson said. “He’s 6-foot-6, we can switch him defensively and use his versatility.”

And they can also use his improved 3-point shooting as well.

In his first month in Brooklyn, Dinwiddie shot an ice cold 20 percent from the 3-point line. But since, he’s experienced an uptick, shooting a career-high 43 percent from behind the arc while playing extending minutes off the bench.

With only a team-option for next season, Dinwiddie hopes his work-ethic in practice and play on the court in recent weeks is enough for the Nets to keep him around next season.

“I hope I put my best foot forward and proved I belong with the Nets long-term,” Dinwiddie said. “I would love to continue to be here, but business is business. It’s not going to be my decision, it’s going to be their decision. I hope they allow me to stay.”