Sports

Mike Francesa on Maryland goof: I wasn’t ‘paying attention to the show’

One day after igniting the airwaves with silence and confusion over what conference Maryland is a part of, Mike Francesa defended his actions during Friday’s radio segment.

The iconic radio host said the dead air was caused by alarm after receiving a text from his wife about his son, who was in a skiing accident but now is OK and back in school.

“I was kind of responding to something I had to respond to, and I should have gone to commercial, but I didn’t,” Francesa said. “and I was just basically not paying attention to the show for two minutes there when I was talking about Maryland, and I should not have done that. My fault, bad job, so it’s bad audio, but here’s the bottom line, they report it, and they report it completely erroneously!”

Francesa’s anger seemed to be targeted for various media outlets failing to mention his mistake came during a segment where he was reviewing possible second-round matchups. But like he has in the past, Francesa couldn’t avoid touting himself as all-knowing.

“Everybody acts like they watch every one of these games,” Francesa said. “Let me tell you something, nobody watches every one of these teams! There was a time, many, many, many years ago, when I was responsible for knowing stuff about all of these teams, and it was a lot of hard work.

“I watch certain teams. But to say I never watch a game is just offensive, if you listen to the show. Especially with the number of coaches that come on the show during the season. You have coaches that are fixtures on this show. So that’s just ridiculous.”

Almost as ridiculous as Francesa criticizing others for pointing out his mistake.