NBA

Knicks want Derrick Rose to be less predictable and shoot 3s

PHILADELPHIA – Derrick Rose said it with a straight face. His rarely used 3-point shot will be raring to go as soon as the postseason.

Rose, who bedeviled the Magic on Wednesday with his explosions to the rim on his way to an 18-point, seven-rebound, four-assist night, acknowledged the Knicks coaching staff is trying to get him to toss up a 3-ball now and then.

“I’m trying to put pieces of my game together,” Rose said after Thursday’s optional practice at Temple. “I’m not shooting 3s yet. Hopefully I’ll start shooting them in the playoffs. It’s going to take a lot of sacrifice and dedication to get there. I’m just adding pieces to my game throughout the season.”

Of course, the Knicks are a long shot to make the playoffs – four games out of the eighth seed with 21 to play. Rose also appears a long shot to re-sign – considering the Knicks shopped him at the trade deadline.

But it’s always been a fantasy for Rose to combine his relentless attacking game with a reliable 3-point shot. If he ever gets some rhythm from the perimeter, a max contract just may await him. Rose’s knees have stayed strong, as evidenced by his Orlando gem. Maybe Knicks brass will have a change of heart and attempt to bring Rose back in the fold if his defense improves, too.

Rose has been reluctant to fire away from deep, despite Hornacek’s urgings. Rose has launched just 57 3-point attempts in 52 games, shooting 22.8 percent. It seems a confidence issue more than anything. His mid-range jumper is solid. In his MVP 2010-11 season, Rose put up 385 3-pointers (33.2 percent).

“I shoot them in practice,” Rose said. “In the game, I got to be efficient, and that’s what I’m trying to do now. KYP: Know your personnel. The way I’m being effective now is with the mid-range.

“I can shoot them now. I choose not to. I could shoot five of them, [but] nah, I don’t have time dealing with the critics and all that comes with it. I want to be efficient than just try things.”

When Hornacek visited Rose in Los Angeles over the summer, he worked with him on his 3-point shooting technique, and the coach still is hopeful Rose will start hoisting. Hornacek said he has been proud of Rose being a better “floor leader” in the past four games, getting the club organized and “setting guys up.” That had been an issue.

“I talked to him a little bit just to keep these teams honest,” Hornacek said. “A lot of these teams are playing behind and going under [a screen]. The hard part is he’s such a speed guy it’s hard to stop right away. I’m encouraging him to take a look at it. See it on tape. See how the guys go behind. If he can shoot the 3 – he shoots it pretty well in practice. Make sure to get the arc on it. Derrick can get to the basket at will. So they play behind and try to clog the lane. If he can knock down a 3, they say, ‘What do we do?’

“He’s never had to shoot them. He knows with his speed and quickness he can get the basket. No reason he can’t mix it up a bit.”

Averaging 17.6 points and 4.4 assists, Rose may be able to finish strong as he learns the finer aspects of the triangle that is being re-emphasized. It’s not his favorite system.

“S–t, do I have a choice?” Rose said Thursday about the triangle. “I just want to win games.

“I still don’t have a feeling yet of the entire offense,’’ Rose added. “Pick and choose. I think: Don’t eff up the game. Looking at a lot of film, I’m learning.’’

Health hasn’t been an issue despite his multiple knee injuries. He credits working with the UCLA football trainer in Westwood over the summer.

“I’m not boasting or bragging, but I worked my ass off in the offseason,’’ Rose said. “Two times, three times a day, the entire summer. I worked on my game and body. That’s one of the reasons my body is holding up.”