Metro

Limo driver nearly impaled when pole crashes through windshield

A father of six was nearly skewered in a freak accident on the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway — when metal pipes and poles tumbled from a flatbed truck and one went through his windshield, he told The Post Friday.

The incident happened at about 8:45 p.m. Thursday as limo driver Munther Abu-Hamea, 45, was driving westbound near Cadman Plaza as he headed home to Staten Island.

“It was like an explosion!” said Abu-Hamea, who drives for both Uber and a Brooklyn limo company. “Like a movie!”

About 70 to 100 poles fell off a truck traveling in the opposite direction on the roadway, which is stacked in that section, and some landed on the lower roadway.

“One pipe went through my windshield and hit my shoulder,” Abu-Hamea told The Post. The pipe lodged between him and his passenger-side door.

His Buick Lacrosse was hit by several other pipes, damaging his car’s roof and shattering the dashboard.

“I feel really lucky but I’m very shaken. I’m scared to drive again.” Abu-Hamea said. “All I kept thinking about was my kids and how I was never going to see them again. I thought I was going to die.”

Abu-Hamea was treated at the scene and went home to his three sons and three daughters.

Medical assistant Emil Dura, 57, who was driving directly behind Abu-Hamea, was also struck by the poles but not injured, officials said.