Kevin Kernan

Kevin Kernan

MLB

Bryce Harper isn’t laughing off Syndergaard’s ‘douche’ rip

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – The Mets’ rivalry with the Nationals got that much juicier Saturday thanks to Bryce Harper.

When asked about Noah Syndergaard’s Instagram comment from New Year’s Eve – Thor dropped the “Douche’’ hammer on Harper — Harper responded with these serious words at the Ballpark of the Palm Beaches: “I don’t know, Syndergaard does what he does and the Mets do what they do. So we are going to worry about what we do in our clubhouse and do everything we can do win ballgames and hopefully have a better record than any team in Major League Baseball.

“They’re a great talent over there,’’ Harper added of the Mets. “We are going to have some fun this year and hopefully enjoy what we do against them.’’

Make baseball and rivalries fun again.

The Nats ran away with NL East last year as injuries decimated the Mets. Harper played through a shoulder injury in 2016. He remains a monster. Same for Syndergaard.

A healthy Harper will make the Nationals that much stronger — circle the dates the Mets and the Nats meet this season, starting on April 21 at Citi Field, a Friday night, the start of a three-game series. The next weekend the teams meet in Washington.

Every Syndergaard vs. Harper at-bat will be must see. Syndergaard does not back down from anyone. Neither does Harper.

Syndergaard told Sports Illustrated recently that he was messing around with that one-word comment, saying: “Bryce and I aren’t buddy-buddy, but we see each other out, we acknowledge each other. Everybody loves a little bit of rivalry. He and I have the same goal: to make baseball fun again. Draw more fans, draw more excitement to the game.”

Mission accomplished.

You could see it in Harper’s eyes as he responded to the “douche” rip: He was not messing around.

Harper is on a mission this season.

This is great for baseball. Great for the NL East. Great for Syndergaard and Harper, two heavyweights going after each other, 60 feet, 6 inches apart. Two 24-year-olds battling it out.

Everyone does not have to be buddy-buddy.

[mlbvideo id=”706696383″ width=”340″ height=”180″ /]

This is Throwback Baseball.

Harper is inching closer to free agency and a possible signing with the Yankees after the 2018 season. I asked Harper his perspective on his free-agent future.

It’s about today, he said.

“I think we got the group of guys to win here, you want to win every single day and not look ahead and not look behind, live in that moment, live in the day,’’ said Harper, who already has an MVP trophy in his trophy room. “Being a Washington National, I love it. I enjoy playing in the city of DC. I enjoy the fans. I enjoy the organization so much, Mr. And Mrs. Lerner gave me an opportunity when I was 17 years old to play Major League Baseball.

“I remember [GM Mike] Rizzo coming out and seeing me for the first time, him and Bob Boone,’’ Harper continued. “They gave me that opportunity and I’m going to play these next two years out and beyond that, I really don’t care. I want to play these two years and have some fun, hopefully win, do everything for the city of DC and bring that [World Series] trophy back hopefully. It’s a very monumental task, if we can do some things, it will be a lot of fun.’’

To do all that, the Nationals must vanquish the Mets. That is not going to be easy with the ace Syndergaard on the mound.

“I’m ready to go,’’ Harper said. “I’m excited to be part of a great team. I’m excited to hopefully send [Jayson Werth] off with a ring.’’

And how about this: If Harper signs with the Yankees after 2018 and Syndergaard stays a Met and stays healthy, this would be the greatest rivalry in the game: NY vs. NY, Mets vs. Yankees.

Syndergaard vs. Harper in the Subway Series. Who could ask for more?