NFL

Rams legend’s Jeff Fisher hate falls on deaf ears

As much as the Rams have tried to smooth things over with Eric Dickerson after coach Jeff Fisher allegedly told him he wasn’t “wanted” at games, it could be awhile before the perpetually middling franchise is graced with its best player’s presence again.

The Hall of Fame running back, who still holds the record for the most rushing yards in a single season (2,105), met with Rams Executive VP Kevin Demoff on Thursday to clear up any lingering resentment between him and the organization.

“I had a very good meeting with Kevin Demoff,” Dickerson told ESPN on Friday. “We talked for almost three hours, trying to resolve things … the conversation went well. I think we got some things resolved. He said, ‘You’re always part of the organization.'”

Those feelings don’t extend to Fisher, who Dickerson says called him earlier this week essentially to scare him away from the team’s sidelines.

“Someone with the Rams told me I’m not wanted on sidelines at games,” Dickerson said on AM 570 LA Sports, “that what I’ve said makes the players uncomfortable.”

Dickerson has spewed his fair share of criticism this season as he’s watched Fisher’s squad sputter to a 4-7 record and glorify a rookie quarterback he would give a “D” rating.

“I just believe that they don’t have the right coaches in place for him,” Dickerson said on an NFL radio show Nov. 17, referring to the No. 1 overall pick Jared Goff. “And that’s what it comes down to. You can’t just throw a quarterback out there and expect him to play well.”

Fisher has since backed off his initial threat, according to Dickerson, but the 56-year-old Rams legend, whom Demoff has made clear he “wants around” as the team continues its transition back to Los Angeles from St. Louis, said he will not associate with a team led by Fisher.

“One thing with me — If I say something, I stand by it,” Dickerson said. “I will not go back to the games as long as Jeff Fisher is there. … I don’t have a vendetta against Jeff at all. I give Demoff credit for saying, ‘We want to try to get this issue straightened out, we want you to come back … you’re more than welcome to come back.’

“But no, I won’t because I felt like the call to me was a very disrespectful call. It was like I’m a kid and he’s putting me on notice.”

Dickerson’s unbending stance could keep him estranged from the Rams for years to come: Demoff recently confirmed Fisher’s job is safe.

“Everybody will want to judge Jeff through the prism of just the record, but that’s totally unfair when you look at the set of circumstances he was handed this year,” Demoff told NFL.com Wednesday, granting Fisher some leeway after the relocation. “It was different than any team in the NFL.

“He’s a terrific leader of men. Players, coaches and staff — he has their complete respect in the way he runs the franchise. It’s easy to talk about the record, but you have to take a snapshot of everything this year and give him the credit that he’s due.”

Demoff has clearly gotten himself caught in the middle of a battle he just cannot win.