NFL

Darrelle Revis plans to play in 2017, won’t tip hand on pay cut

Darrelle Revis plans to play in 2017.

Contrary to a published report Thursday that said Revis no longer wants to play and “tanked” this season, Revis said he wants to be back next year.

“I still have a lot of football to play,” Revis told The Post. “At this point, it’s just figuring things out in the offseason, what’s the best thing for me, and that’s talking to Coach. ‘What can I do to help this team win?’ Do I need to play more nickel, play more inside? We’ll have to hash it out and see what’s best.”

Revis has said publicly he is open to a position change to safety. He reiterated that Thursday, saying he will talk to coach Todd Bowles after the season to see if that is what Bowles thinks is best.

“We’ll see,” Revis said of moving to safety. “After this month of football and we get into the offseason, I’ll sit down with Todd, and we’ll see what can we do to figure out for me what’s the best position to help this team. What’s the best position to put me in to help this team win? You go from there. If we both decide that’s what is best for me or if he feels I still have room to play on the outside.”

In a group interview earlier, Revis was asked if he is willing to take a pay cut in 2017. He is scheduled to make $15 million.

“We’ll see,” he said.

Revis acknowledged this has been a tough year.

“It’s a down year,” Revis said. “It’s a down year for the team. It’s a down year for me personally. I’ve been in this situation before, where it’s just not the year for us. For me personally, my focus is on the future of this football club.”


Offensive coordinator Chan Gailey was asked if rookie quarterback Christian Hackenberg is a “mystery” at this point because of his limited reps. Gailey said he did not like that word, but then basically admitted Hackenberg is a mystery.

“I think he’s a developmental player at this point,” Gailey said. “There’s a lot of talent there. The sky’s the limit. We don’t know yet.”


Center Nick Mangold practiced fully Thursday for the first time since spraining his ankle Oct. 23 against the Ravens. He has missed the last four games.


Outside tackle Breno Giacomini (back, shoulder), wide receiver Brandon Marshall (foot, knee), wide receiver Jalin Marshall (concussion), linebacker Lorenzo Mauldin (ankle), defensive tackle Steve McLendon (hamstring) and safety Calvin Pryor (concussion) did not practice.