Health

This guy does backflips with barbells

Think doing a bicep curl is tough? This guy can do backflips with barbells.

Eirik Thingstad Lundstein, a 28-year-old gymnast from Elverum, Norway, recently posted a video of himself doing jumps and flips while holding weights and kettlebells. Since then, the video has received more than 50,000 views on YouTube and 2 million views on Facebook.

Lundstein started doing weight-lifting tricks in 2009.

“I always like to challenge myself, but at the time I didn’t really have any good ideas,” Lundstein tells The Post. “It seemed like a stupid idea. But I then thought: How can I make this possible without getting some serious injuries?”

And so he started doing flips using 10-pound kettlebells, adding more weight over time, before moving on to wooden poles and barbells.

“I would not recommend it for muscle gain, but it was really interesting playing around with weights, because they change your center of gravity and momentum,” says Lundstein.

And while he’s been happy with the positive response he’s gotten from the video, he says doing gymnastics with weights is something you shouldn’t necessarily try at home.

“I would not recommend this to anyone, unless they really know what they are doing,” he says. “There is a lot of body control, body strength and understanding of momentum needed to be able to do this and not get injured.”