NFL

David Harris confident his streak won’t end, but Jets aren’t so sure

David Harris remains “optimistic” his consecutive-games-started streak won’t end Monday night, but for the third straight day, the Jets’ middle linebacker was in the training room instead of on the practice field.

The one saving grace for Harris and his injured hamstring is the extra day of rest before the game. Otherwise, his run of 121 games started in a row, dating back to the 2008 season, would be even further in doubt.

“I’m optimistic,” he said Friday. “I’m doing everything possible to try to get on the field. [The streak] means a lot to me. I try to be there for my teammates. I don’t like missing time with the guys.”

Coach Todd Bowles said Harris’ chances are “slim,” unless he is able to practice Saturday or Sunday in what will be light workouts. He will travel with the team to Arizona on Saturday either way.

As the quarterback of the defense, Harris would be sorely missed. Cornerback Darrelle Revis said it would be a “huge hit” for the defense not to have him out there.

If Harris can’t go, Bowles would use veterans Erin Henderson and Bruce Carter, along with rookie Darron Lee, in his place.

“I’m good with those guys,” Bowles said.


While Harris is a question mark, Revis (hamstring) seems ready to return after missing last Sunday’s loss to the Steelers. Revis practiced on a limited basis for the second straight day and did more than he had Thursday.

Darrelle RevisBill Kostroun

“I felt great, just to get out there and do what I do best,” he said. “It’s a feeling type of deal. The trainers wanted to go off of how I felt and what I thought about it, and I felt good. I had a couple plays where I was supposed to go in. And then a couple reps turned into a bunch more reps. That’s a good thing.”

Bowles and Revis both said it’s not definite he will play against the Cardinals, but it seems likely barring a setback. Most important: He’s moving around freely.

“One thing I do know is when I run — and I run at my top speed — my hamstring is not grabbing,” Revis said. “That’s two thumbs up in my book. I know one thing as a DB: Anything with your legs, any injuries, that’s very tough. So you definitely want to be on point in that area, and I am. I feel fine.”


The Jets are hopeful they will have center Nick Mangold (knee) and tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins (ankle) on Monday after the two practiced on a limited basis. It was Mangold’s first practice of the week. Left tackle Ryan Clady (shoulder) and tight end Braedon Bowman (knee) also were limited, and are expected to play.