MLB

Dejected Jose Reyes: I want to ‘finish my career’ with the Mets

Like the rest of the Mets late Wednesday night, Jose Reyes stood in front of his locker and looked back on their 3-0 wild-card loss to the Giants with regret.

But he also looked ahead with some uncertainty, which is something he has grown more accustomed to.

After reviving his career with the Mets following his midseason signing with his original team, Reyes hoped to remain in Queens in 2017.

“I’m very proud of this team,” Reyes said after going 0-for-4, as the Mets were stifled by Madison Bumgarner. “Coming into this year, I didn’t think I’d be in this situation. I’m blessed.”

Reyes was suspended for 52 games this season while still under contract with the Rockies for violating MLB’s domestic violence protocol. He was arrested in Maui last year for allegedly assaulting his wife in their hotel room.

The Mets brought him back following his release by the Rockies and he proved to be a vital cog in the lineup, as well as a replacement at third base for the injured David Wright.

The team has an option for Reyes at the veteran’s minimum for next year and Reyes made clear his wishes on Wednesday.

“I’d love to be back,” Reyes said. “I love the feeling here. We’ll see what happens, but I want to be here, for sure.”

1 of 18
Curtis Granderson makes an incredible, run-saving catch against the wall in the sixth inning.Charles Wenzelberg
The view of the NL wild-card game on Oct. 5 at Citi FieldGetty Images
Advertisement
Charles Wenzelberg
Yoenis Cespedes' new blond hairAnthony J. Causi
Andrew Theodorakis
Advertisement
AP
Madison Bumgarner was everything he was billed to be.Anthony J. Causi
UPI
Advertisement
Jay Bruce, another victim of BumgarnerAP
Andrew Theodorakis
Bruce helps Granderson up.Andrew Theodorakis
Advertisement
Noah SyndergaardAnthony J. Causi
The Mets celebrate Granderson's catch.Charles Wenzelberg
Advertisement

He also wanted to get to the NLDS.

“We really wanted to win this game,’’ Reyes said.

And when Curtis Granderson made his incredible catch to end the top of the sixth inning on Brandon Belt’s deep fly ball off Noah Syndergaard to keep the game scoreless, Reyes felt pretty good.

“That was like watching Endy Chavez,” Reyes said. “I felt like we were gonna win this game, but we couldn’t do anything against Bumgarner. We didn’t have too many opportunities.”

Having a leadoff hitter that doesn’t get on base doesn’t help.

But Reyes is hoping for better things ahead.

“We had a lot of adversity, but that’s no excuse,” Reyes said. “We have a good group here.”

When asked if he would try to convince Yoenis Cespedes — who can opt out of his contract — to return, Reyes laughed.

“I hope Cespedes comes back, but it’s too soon to say,” Reyes said. “I don’t even know if I’m going to be here. I’d love to be back and finish my career here. That was fun.”