Metro

Urban cowboy would rather die than lose his horses

The “Outerbridge Cowboy” had his day in day in court after a run-in with the sheriffs.

Tod Mishler, 80, was arraigned in Staten Island Criminal Court Friday for two counts of animal cruelty, which came to light after riding his horse across the Outerbridge Crossing.

The Staten Island saddler came in guns a blazing with a straw hat and spurs on his boots, which he had to turn into the court officers before entering the courtroom. He prayed to be reunited with his loyal steeds.

“I’m gonna plead not guilty,” Mishler said. “I’m prepared to go to jail. I’m prepared to die before I give away my horses.”

Mishler rode the horses across the bridge Monday to see his son, he said outside of court. He hadn’t seen Trevor-Anthony Mishler of Brooklyn in six years, he professed.

“I’m not doing what he wants me to do,” Mishler said, when asked why his son wasn’t at court with him. “I’m doing what the lord wants me to do.”

Judge Ray Rodriguez let the cowboy ride into the sunset without his horses, adjourning the case to August 10.

Mishler surrendered his horses to authorities Thursday after the horses were deemed neglected. They’re currently under the care of ASPCA at a Staten Island facility, according to a Richmond county court press release.

After finding out he wouldn’t get his horses back after adjournment, Mishler, who has rode his horses across country including a trek across the Golden Gate Bridge, left the courthouse disappointed.

“You don’t travel 3 times across country while not caring for your horses,” Mishler said.