Sex & Relationships

How ‘The Bachelorette’ became the Jordan Rodgers show

Jojo Fletcher may get top billing as “The Bachelorette,” but Jordan Rodgers’ has stolen her spotlight this season.

As the younger brother of Aaron Rodgers, Jordan easily became the most talked-about contestant before the show premiered in May. But following Monday’s episode, it’s evident the competitors aren’t just vying for Jojo’s heart, but they want to be the one who takes down baby Rodgers.

Case in point: James Taylor’s ill-fated attempt to sabotage Jordan.

After the casual group date in Bueno Aires, Jojo and her gents enjoy cocktail hour. While frontrunner Luke spends much of his one-on-one time making out with the brunette beauty, James Taylor smears Jordan’s name instead.

“Jordan Rodgers, I’m a celebrity, I have a billion-watt smile, I’m in a magazine,” James Taylor begins, before zoning in on Jordan’s sense of “entitlement” during a poker match between the men.

While Jojo is stunned by the allegations, she immediately questions Jordan before moving forward.

“It was brought to my attention earlier tonight that there was an altercation between you and James that was very unbecoming on your part,” Jojo says. “James is an amazing person and I respect him, and I never think he’s lying whatsoever, but it’s something I need to ask you.”

Jordan, who addressed a past relationship with Jojo last week, did not hold back when revealing his side of the story. And while Jojo does take what Jordan has to say into account, it’s not enough to give him the group date rose – which ultimately goes to Luke and his lips.

As for Jordan, his friendship with James Taylor is on thin ice after the singer-songwriter made it a point to question his integrity.

“It’s just pathetic when someone needs to bring up stuff like that,” Jordan spews. “I have not once mentioned anybody’s name.”

With relationships progressing and others stalling – it was nice knowing you, Wells and Derek – Jojo questions where the journey will take her ahead of the rose ceremony.

Knowing that she wants to be engaged by the end of this, it remains to be seen which man will eventually get down on one knee.

“This week was unbelievably emotionally tough for me,” Jojo shares before meeting the guys. “Tonight is the cocktail part in Argentina and I have to say goodbye to somebody else and that scares me. I feel so conflicted because I’m going into tonight not knowing what I’m going to do. What if I send home the guy I’m supposed to end up with? How do I live with that?”

Jordan manages to put her mind at ease, telling Jojo that he’s already thinking about their future.

“I hope you know I came into this open to falling in love, and I want to be engaged at the end of this and I think we can get there,” Jordan tells Jojo. “I look at you and I see the person that I want to fall in love with and that I am falling in love with.”

With James Taylor now on the clock, the musician makes his move.

“I have let myself fall for you and I’m going, I’m getting there with you,” he says to Jojo before planting his most passionate kiss on her.

“I feel good, I really did need this kind of confidence,” James confesses to the cameras. “She like kissed me, kissed me.”

Fortunately for James, that must have been one hell of a kiss because Jojo not only keeps him, but saves Alex from elimination, too.

“I needed this. Being able to give both James and Alex a rose tonight, I feel relieved,” Jojo explains. “I couldn’t say good-bye to any of you guys. “

“I have six incredible men that I care so much about,” she continues. “And I have developed strong feelings for all of you guys.”

With hometown dates on the horizon, Jojo’s decisions are bound to get tougher and tougher.