MLB

‘I want to be here’: Conforto doesn’t like demotion thought

Terry Collins has some ideas for a potential shake-up. Michael Conforto, still engulfed in a massive slump, hopes he isn’t involved in any potential changes.

“I want to be here and I want to help the team win, help us get out of this tough time we’re having,” the second-year outfielder said after the Mets were swept by the Braves at Citi Field, dropping the final game of the ugly series, 6-0, Sunday afternoon. “It’s out of my control. All I can do is go out there and try to produce as much as I can.”

When asked about Conforto’s struggles the last few months, Collins cut off the question, and said: “Still is [struggling]. We’re looking [at] it.”

“[The] other night, he had a pretty good game, we put him in the next day, didn’t do [anything],” the manager said. “But I’ll tell you, Michael Conforto plays. He’s not going to sit here on the bench.”

That could suggest a demotion to the minor leagues, though Collins wasn’t tipping his hand.

Conforto actually had the Mets’ lone hit Sunday, a well-struck opposite field single in the second, off Julio Teheran. But after that solid day last week against the Pirates when he homered and had two hits, he’s just 1-for-10, with very few loud outs.

He’s hitting .125 in June after batting .169 in May. Combined, he has 20 hits in his last 131 at-bats. Quite the contrast to an April in which Conforto posted a .365 batting average and 1.118 OPS.

His overall batting average is down to .231, to go along with a .746 OPS, nearly 100 points lower than he produced in 56 games as a rookie last year. He has also struck out 59 times, 20 more than he had last season in only 31 fewer at bats. The Mets have started to sit him against all left-handers — Matt Reynolds pinch hit for Conforto on Saturday against a southpaw — yet that hasn’t worked, either.

“Just have faith in yourself, have faith in your ability,” Conforto said, when asked his mindset at the moment. “Go back to the success I’ve had, success last year, the success earlier in the season, take a look at that stuff, feel good about that, knowing I can get back to that, and come out of this slump, the rough patch, I’m in right now.

“I know it’s going to happen. There’s no doubt in my mind.”