NBA

J.R. Smith: Don’t accuse me of injuring Andrew Bogut

J.R. Smith’s biggest contribution to the Finals so far for the Cavaliers might be removing Warriors starting center Andrew Bogut from the series.

In the third quarter of Game 5, Smith drove into the lane and was met by the towering Australian, who blocked his shot. An off-balance Smith crashed into Bogut’s legs. Bogut was removed from the game and the Warriors announced Wednesday he’s out for the series with bone bruises in his left knee that will take six-to-eight weeks to heal.

For once, Smith wasn’t responsible for a dirty play, but the former Knick still took umbrage at insinuations he was to blame.

“I injured him?” Smith asked. “So it’s my fault? I was trying to go up, he blocked my shot. I fell slow to the ground and he went down. It’s a basketball play. It’s not like I’m out there trying to take his legs out.”

Smith is averaging a third-best-on-the-team 9.6 points in the Finals on 39 percent shooting. He attacked the basket all first quarter on Monday, scoring a team-high nine points. He finished with 10.

Without the shot-blocking Bogut in the game, Smith plans to drive just as much, though he praised backup Festus Ezeli.

“When they close out, they close out hard and fast,” Smith said. “I’ve just got to make the best adjustment, whether it’s shooting the 3 or driving in and getting a layup.”