US News

Man’s final text to mom from inside Florida club: ‘He’s coming, I’m gonna die’

Mina Justice shows a text message she received from her son Eddie Justice, who was at Pulse nightclub.AP

“He’s coming. I’m gonna die.”

That’s what a 30-year-old man texted his mother while trapped inside the Orlando, Florida, nightclub where at least 50 people were killed early Sunday.

“Mommy I love you. In the club they shooting,” Mina Justice said her son, Eddie, wrote from a women’s bathroom at Pulse, shortly before he was fatally shot by gunman Omar Mateen.

“Call them mommy. Now. I’m tell I’m bathroom. He’s coming. I’m gonna die. he has us, and he’s in here with us,” Eddie Justice texted, according to his mom.

That was the final text he sent his mother, she said.

She had briefly talked to him on the phone minutes earlier.

“I could hear a lot of people crying” in the background, she told the local Fox TV station.

The mom said her son hurriedly told her, “He has us, and he’s fixin’ to kill us.”

“That was it,” she added.

Mina Justice spent Sunday unsure about the fate of her son, only to learn the worst when cops listed his name among the first to be confirmed dead.

Another woman, Christine Leinonen, sobbed outside the Orlando Regional Medical Center on Sunday afternoon while waiting to hear from her son, Christopher, 32.

“They said there’s a lot of dead bodies in the club and that it’s a crime scene . . . so it could be hours and hours before we find out,” Leinonen told ABC News.

Leinonen said Christopher’s boyfriend, Juan Guerrero, had been seen with “multiple gunshot [wounds] and was being taken by the ambulance.”

“I haven’t heard anything,” she said. “I have been here since 4 o’clock in the morning. I have been waiting by the emergency room to see if anybody gets called in.”

It was later revealed Guerrero had been one of the people killed.

“He was always this amazing person, [and] he was like a big brother to me,” said Juan’s cousin, Robert Guerrero.

“He was never the type to go out to parties. He would rather stay home and care for his niece and nephew.”

Christine Leinonen reacts outside the Orlando Regional Medical Center.Getty Images

Juan Guerrero had come out as gay only about two years ago because he was worried how his family might react, his cousin said.

“They were very accepting,’’ Robert Guerrero recalled. “As long as he was happy, they were OK with it.’’

Robert Guerrero said his cousin worked as a telemarketer and had recently started taking courses at the University of Central Florida.

Officials began releasing the names of the dead as family members were notified.

Edward Sotomayor Jr., a manager at a premiere gay travel agency, was also killed.

“One of the saddest days of my life,” Sotomayor’s friend and owner of the travel agency, Al Ferguson, wrote on Facebook. “I will try to start to find the good in all of this.”

Sotomayor had sent his boss a video from inside the club just minutes before the shooting took place. On the video, Sotomayor is on the dance floor with a friend.

“I didn’t come over from his urging,” Ferguson wrote. “I could have been there with them and done something. Something.”

Sotomayor’s cousin, David Sotomayor, said Edward was a caring, energetic man who often traveled to promote the company’s events.

“He was just always part of the fun,” said David, a drag queen who goes by the stage name Jade and appeared on the TV reality show “RuPaul’s Drag Race.’’

“You never think that’s going to be the last time you speak to him. It’s just heartbreaking to know it just can happen anytime,’’ he said.

On his Facebook page, the adventurous Edward Sotomayor Jr. had written, “Up Up and AWAY . . . I’m Always on the go.’’

Also killed in the rampage was Stanley Almodovar, a pharmacy technician who posted a video of himself singing on Snapchat before heading to the club.

“I wish I had that to remember him forever,” Almodovar’s mother, Rosalie Ramos, told the Orlando Sentinel.

The 23-year-old man, originally from Springfield, Mass., had been living in Clermont, Fla., according to his Facebook profile.

“Completely in shock,” Karla Rentas‎ wrote on his Facebook page. “I can’t believe you are one of the victims. You are a beautiful human been [sic]. didn’t deserve to leave us so soon.”

Another friend said Almodovar “made an impact on everyone.”

“Rest in peace Baby Boy,” friend Caitlin Rodrigues‎ said. “I’ll never forget the times we’ve had together ❤️may you rest in paradise 🙏 you will be missed.”

Also identified as killed were Franky Jimmy Dejesus Velazquez, 50; Jean Carlos Mendez Perez, 35; Anthony Luis Laureanodisla, 25; Alejandro Barrios Martinez, 21; Deonka Deidra Drayton, 32; Luis Omar Ocasio-Capo, 20; Eric Ivan Ortiz-Rivera, 36; Peter O. Gonzalez-Cruz, 22; Kimberly “KJ” Morris, 37; Eddie Jamoldroy Justice, 30; Darryl Roman Burt II, 29; and Luis S. Vielma, 22.

Vielma was a student at Seminole State College of Florida who worked at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios Orlando, according to his Facebook page.

J.K. Rowling tearfully acknowledged his love for the character in a tweet posted early Monday.

“Luis Vielma worked on the Harry Potter ride at Universal,” she said. “He was 22 years old. I can’t stop crying. #Orlando.”

Gonzalez-Cruz hailed from Woodbridge, NJ, and went to Colonia High School, according to his Facebook page.

His mother went online to thank everyone for their support.

“Again, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the love that you have shown me regarding my son. I will keep you informed. As a mother, I feel a deep and immense pain as everyone else who’s going through this,” she said.

An aunt of Ortiz-Rivera told The Post that her nephew hailed from Puerto Rico and worked as an assistant manager for Party City.

“He cares about people. He liked everyone. He had tons of friends,” she said before recalling the devastating moment officials at a local hospital broke the bad news that he was on the list of dead victims.

“Oh my God. My heart breaks,” she told The Post. “We were crying. I have the feeling like he don’t die like someone will come and tell me he is still in the hospital, but I know he is gone.

“I have no feeling for this man who shot everyone. I believe in God, the justice of God,” she added. “I believe my nephew is in heaven with God.”

Friends and family said Morris, a Connecticut native, worked as a bouncer at the Pulse nightclub and had big plans to move to Hawaii to manage her own cellphone store, said MassLive.com.

As the names were being released, family members patiently waited outside the Orlando Regional Medical Center, hoping their loved ones were still alive.

“I’ve been calling all of his friends all day to look for him,” Sara Lopez told The Post about her brother, Jimmy de Jesus Velasquez, 51.

“They saw him running for the door. Then no one saw him,” she recalled, already fearing the worst. “I hope he died instantly and didn’t suffer for three hours like they’re telling me he might have.”

Anthony Efmura, who was partying at the club Saturday night, arrived at the hospital to check on several of his close friends.

“Many of my friends were inside,” Efmura said. “I’ve been at the hospital all day. When I got here, I called my friend. He said, ‘I’m OK. I have three shots in my legs.’ ”

Efmura was still searching for his boyfriend, whom he lost in the chaos.

“He started to run,” Efmura said. “He was next to me. Then he was just gone. There’s just so much pain here.”

Marisol Cervanes, 24, was looking for her cousin, Miguel Anorado, when the hospital staff said she would have to come back tomorrow.

“They just came out with a list of people’s names,” she said. “They would not tell us anything else except that my cousin’s name was not on the list.”

Cervanes, like many others, was unsure what to think.

“A lot of people are crying, a lot of people are angry,” she said.

Also outside the medical center was Jaime Leon, looking for information on her nephew, Luiz Wilson.

“They want us to wait until 10 a.m. tomorrow morning!” she said. “We have more than 50 dead people all day, and we’re asking if our loved ones are among them, and they can’t tell us.”

Among the wounded was a woman from Glen Cove, LI, Marissa Delgado, her mother said, according to WPIX-TV.

Additional reporting by Kevin Sheehan with Post wire services


What you need to know about the worst mass shooting in US history: