MLB

‘That’s a Hall of Famer’: Carlos Beltran belts historic homer

Carlos Beltran said he doesn’t get caught up in numbers, but he couldn’t deny the importance of becoming the fourth switch hitter in major league history to get to 400 home runs, in the Yankees’ 7-5 win over the White Sox on Sunday.

“After 2011, my last year with the Mets, a lot of people thought I probably would be out of baseball,” Beltran said, referring to the knee injuries that have plagued him in the latter part of his career. “I’m still playing baseball.”

Now he’s on a list that features just Mickey Mantle, Eddie Murray, Chipper Jones — and him.

“It’s a great accomplishment,” Beltran said. “Those are three great players. I’m trying to finish my career strong.”

It has been a struggle, especially from the right side, and that made his sixth-inning blast off left-hander Zach Duke all the more startling.

[mlbvideo id=”700695083″ width=”612″ height=”360″ /]

The two-run homer also gave the Yankees a lead they surrendered an inning later.

“I’ve been scuffling from the right side a little bit,” said Beltran, who entered the game with a .621 OPS from the right side and .803 as a lefty. “The last thing I’m thinking is a home run. I’m trying to fight, to see the pitcher, since he’s a sidearmer.”

Beltran got the ball back from the fan who caught it in exchange for two bats, four balls and two jerseys — all signed.

To Joe Girardi, it was another sign Beltran will end up in Cooperstown.

“That’s a Hall of Famer in front of us,” the manager said.

Beltran will have to find out.

“It’s great that people mention that,” Beltran said. “It motivates me that people consider me that. But at the same time, I have seen players play this game for a long time and had successful careers and not gotten into the Hall of Fame.”

For now, though, he continues to impress his teammates.

“His willingness to get on the field hurt is amazing,” Brian McCann said. “He’s got a lot of respect in this clubhouse.”

Despite his feelings about getting to 400, Beltran continues to hold out for something else as his career winds down.

“For me, what is important is trying to win a championship,” Beltran said. “That’s something I’ve never experienced in my career. I’ve been to All-Star games, [won] Gold Gloves … but to win a World Series is the greatest accomplishment as a ballplayer.”

Girardi said Beltran is due for a day off soon and he seems to be doing well in the DH role while Alex Rodriguez is out with a hamstring injury. But Girardi expects Beltran back in right soon enough.

“My plan is Alex is the DH when he comes back,” Girardi said.