MLB

The musical proof the Cubs sincerely miss Starlin Castro

The Cubs are thriving without Starlin Castro, but that doesn’t mean they don’t miss their former teammate.

Slugging first baseman Anthony Rizzo strode to the plate Monday during the Cubs’ home opener while Castro’s walk-up music played — a tribute to the infielder who was traded to the Yankees this offseason for reliever Adam Warren.

“I don’t think any of the guys knew,” Rizzo told the Chicago Tribune. “I said, ‘Hey, heads up for my first walk-up song.’”

The Wrigley Field crowd exploded as Rizzo strode to the plate with “Ando En La Versace” playing, instead of the club music that usually signals his at-bats. Rizzo said his inclination was to make it a one-time thing, but may leave that up to Cubs fans with a Twitter poll.

“I think with respect with him, I’ll probably just do it that one time,” Rizzo said after the Cubs rallied for a 4-3 win over the Reds to improve to 6-1.

“But who knows? Maybe I’ll keep it. He was part of this organization a long time and taught me a lot about how to be a big leaguer. Him being traded was tough for a lot of us. To just be able to get the crowd into was pretty good.”

Castro is quickly endearing himself to Yankees fans, hitting .450 with two home runs and eight RBIs in his first five games in pinstripes.