Sports

Ex-coach’s tourney predictions: one explosive title game

Former Xavier, Providence and Virginia coach Pete Gillen, a CBS Sports Network college analyst and NYC basketball Hall of Famer, shares some of his March Madness thoughts and predictions with The Post. As told to Steve Serby.

I’m back! I’m red hot, I would have been 12-for-12 in my regional semifinals and finals predictions in my predictions if Virginia hadn’t blown that 16-point lead in the second half against Syracuse.

I get paid a ham sandwich for every article in The Post. I’m gonna ask for a raise and get some cheese on the sandwich next year. I’m gonna nail these Final Four picks, gonna go up to Cape Cod and stare at the water and talk to the seagulls and forget about life for awhile.

Full disclosure: I went to Madame Zunu, a palm reader from Brooklyn. I’ve used her before. My confidence was shaken. I didn’t know which bridge to jump off, I was thinking the Verrazano since I’m from Brooklyn, or maybe Golden Gate ’cause right now the Warriors are hot. Madame Zunu helped me a lot.

I don’t think she’ll be able to help Syracuse.

National Semifinals

Syracuse vs. North Carolina

It helps Syracuse that it’s playing with house money. But Adolph Rupp used to say, “The team that controls the boards, controls the game.” North Carolina has the best frontcourt in college basketball, and will dominate the glass. Marcus Paige knocking down 3s takes the Tar Heels to another level.

Malachi Richardson reminds me of Carmelo Anthony when he led Syracuse to the national title as a freshman. I think he’ll still get his 18-20, but for Syracuse to win, they’ll have to pack the zone in tight and hope North Carolina is cold from 3-point land, and the Orange get out in transition.

I think Jim Boeheim is better at adjusting during the game. Roy Williams has his system and is gonna play his system come hell or high water. Both are great coaches.

North Carolina 78, Syracuse 70

Villanova vs. Oklahoma

The only way to play Buddy Hield is you can’t let him touch the ball. You got to deny him as best you can with man-to-man. And secondly, I would play some triangle-and-two. I would put one guy on him, just faceguard, don’t let him touch the ball, and then put another guy on Jordan Woodard, who’s really hot and take your chances with Isaiah Cousins. Worse comes to worse, it’s a surprise, and you get him out of rhythm.

My last year at Providence, we beat Syracuse up there with a triangle-and-two on Marius Janulis and Todd Burgan. They had killed us six days before. We beat Kansas State one time in the Tournament when I was at Xavier — Lon Kruger, now at Oklahoma, was the coach — with a triangle-and-two on Steve Henson and Askia Jones.

Two great shooting teams. Hield is the best deep 3-point shooter alive, dead or yet to be born. His body type reminds me of of Klay Thompson and his range reminds me of Steph Curry.

Villanova’s Ryan Arcidiacono reminds me of a poor man’s John Stockton.

Jay Wright wins the dressing contest ’cause he looked like he stepped out of Gentleman’s Quarterly, you can almost smell the cologne on TV. If I had his suit allowance, I could buy three houses up in Cape Cod.

Hield runs wild for 33 points.

Oklahoma 85, Villanova 81

Championship game

North Carolina vs. Oklahoma

UNC’s Brice Johnson reminds me of a less-skilled Anthony Davis. He’ll control the paint offensively and defensively. Hield will get 30 in a very entertaining game. I’m tight as a clam’s rear end, and I’d pay to see this one in person. I’m back! See you in Houston.

North Carolina 92, Oklahoma 86