George Willis

George Willis

Boxing

Tim Bradley’s very personal response to Manny Pacquiao

At first Tim Bradley didn’t want to address the recent comments Manny Pacquiao made saying gay people are “worse than animals.” The conference call this week was meant to promote their April 9 fight at the Las Vegas MGM Grand, the third fight between the two multi-division title holders.

“It’s pretty much irrelevant to boxing and what we are here to talk about,” Bradley began, but then the Palm Springs, Calif., resident decided to deliver his own opinion. “But if you ask me a question about gay people — I love all people for what they are. I respect people for what they are. I judge people by their heart. If they just talk it and don’t show it, then I don’t believe it — that’s what it’s all about. Show me.

“That’s the most important thing. I have a gay uncle [Mitch Bradley] that passed away [eight years ago], and he had the biggest heart out of all of my uncles, and I miss him to death, and I still miss him today right now.”

Pacquiao’s comments put an early damper on the promotion of the non-title fight, prompting HBO, which will be the pay-per-view distributor, to issue a statement that read in part, “We consider [the comments] insensitive, offensive and deplorable.”

Cheers to Bradley for telling us about Mitch Bradley, who died eight years ago.

“Uncle Mitch was a good man,” Bradley said.

It might help salvage a fight that is starving for some positive attention in the midst of March Madness and the upcoming Masters golf tournament.

The billing as Pacquiao’s last fight has lost traction and let’s face it, the first two fights weren’t all that special. Bradley (33-1-1, 13 KOs) was awarded a controversial split decision in the first meeting in June 2012, while Pacquiao (57-6-2, 38 KOs) earned a unanimous decision in the rematch in April 2014.

Bradley conceded the first fight was “close,” but said a calf injury hampered him in the second bout. He’s confident the third fight will be different because Teddy Atlas is his trainer. This will be their second fight together after Bradley looked impressive in stopping Brandon Rios last November.

“This time around I have a guy that analyzes fighters for a living,” Bradley said. “That’s what he does. He’s an analyst and a trainer. The approach this time is going to be a lot different. and I will be looking to exploit Pacquiao’s weaknesses.”

“I trust everything that Teddy is telling me and teaching me,” Bradley added. “Teddy can instill everything that I need and I just go out and instill the game plan to win this fight. He has told me everything I need to know to win this fight and if I don’t go out there and do it I’m not going to win this fight.”

There is speculation Pacquiao isn’t as motivated for the final bout of the trilogy. He has hinted strongly this will be his last fight as he prepares for run for a Senatorial seat this May in the Philippines. If elected, his political career would be too time-consuming to continue his boxing career.

“I’m expecting the best Manny Pacquiao,” Bradley said. “I hear he’s training hard. I hear he is highly motivated for this affair. He knows what’s at stake.”

At stake for Bradley is more meaningful than a championship belt.

“I just want to have the opportunity to definitely seal the deal, and that same opportunity for my family as well,” Bradley said. “It is an opportunity for my kids to talk about years from now with their classmates — that their father beat Manny Pacquiao.”