Kevin Kernan

Kevin Kernan

MLB

Mike Piazza has some sage slugger advice for Cespedes

PORT ST. LUCIE — Legends know.

Give Hall of Famer Mike Piazza credit. His tour of Mets camp is not just a meet and greet.

Asked about relating to what Yoenis Cespedes did last season — Piazza came to the Mets via a trade, too, way back in 1998 — Piazza said he could. And said he will offer some strong and solid advice to Cespedes, hitter to hitter.

“When I talk to him, I’m going to tell him there is going to be a lot of pressure on this year. He is going to be expected to do a lot and I have a little bit of experience knowing that pressure and I hope he is going to discipline himself and really refine his strike zone and realize when the pitchers are not pitching to him, he has got to take his walks,’’ Piazza said Sunday at Tradition Field.

“I think you saw that in the World Series a little bit. He just got too anxious and was trying to do too much and was just swinging, trying to hit the ball out of the stadium. I will tell him you don’t have to hit it out of this thing, you just have to hit it over the wall or hit it off the wall.’’

In 676 plate appearances last season, Cespedes drew 33 walks. Case closed.

Piazza talks to the media Sunday afternoon.Anthony J. Causi

Piazza, 47, will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in late July, along with Ken Griffey Jr. The Mets will retire their former catcher’s number July 30.

The acquisition of Cespedes, 30, made the Mets a playoff team last year as they raced to the World Series.

Cespedes struggled with a shoulder injury and batted .150 against the Royals with six strikeouts in 20 at-bats.

This year there will be even more pressure on Cespedes.

“He’s a kid,’’ Piazza said, showing all of his 47 years.

“He came from Cuba, who grew up completely different than what we did. So handling all that and coming to the states, it’s culturally different for him.’’

Piazza noted Cespedes’ collection of exotic vehicles, getting to the heart of the matter.

“I don’t care what you drive, as long as you drive in runs,’’ said Piazza, who blasted 427 home runs, drove in 1,335 runs and batted .308 in his 16-year-career. “That’s the key.

“I think he is so talented. But the key for him is to not to try to do too much when he is expected to do much. If he gets a hit and a walk that’s .333 and that’s the way I looked at the game,’’ Piazza said.

“He’s a smart hitter and he has to learn to realize when they are not giving him something to hit, he has to take his walks.’’

It was mentioned that when the Mets play in Philadelphia, Cespedes should visit Mike Piazza Honda.

“I don’t think he is going to be driving Hondas, but maybe I can get him an [Acura] NSX,’’ Piazza said. “It would be good for business.’’

Piazza is basking in the glow of being a Hall of Fame player, noting he has received texts from boyhood idol Mike Schmidt. He also reached out to the Mets only other Hall of Fame player, Tom Seaver. “It’s a special club,’’ he said.

“I talked to Tom a few weeks before Christmas. I heard he wasn’t feeling well and I just wanted to reach out to him and see if I can get on his mailing list for his wine,’’ Piazza said. “ It’s just so great to hear his voice. To be alongside of him in the Hall as a Met is so special. He represents the iconic face of the organization and being pitcher and catcher is great.’’

As for these Mets aces, Piazza said, “It’s like driving a different sports car every day — one day a Ferrari, the next day you have a Porsche.

“I’m a lot more grateful with what this game has given me,’’ Piazza said. “It’s given me my life, all I have. It’s how I met my wife and my beautiful children and given my father a lot of joy. How special this country is that someone like me can crack through the door and get into this game and end up having the career that I had. It’s a lesson that I try to inspire other people. I’m over the moon with pride and being grateful.’’

Piazza will be here three days as a special instructor, spending much of that time with the catchers and Travis d’Arnaud.

“I don’t want to hang around too long,’’ Piazza said. “I just want to enjoy the guys and let them enjoy their success.’’

And have that hitter-to-hitter conversation with Yoenis Cespedes.