Golf

Why Padraig Harrington’s now friends with vanquished playoff foe

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. — Who would have thought Padraig Harrington, ranked 297th in the world and winless for the previous seven years, would come from “out of the blue’’ — Harrington’s words — to win the star-studded Honda Classic a year ago?

Certainly not Harrington, who needed a sponsor’s exemption to get into the field.

And what would the odds be that Harrington, since defeating Daniel Berger, a 21-year-old local kid from nearby Jupiter, in a playoff, would become close friends with the youngster he vanquished in the year since the two dueled across the infamous “Bear Trap’’ at PGA National?

“He’s a good guy, a good craic, a good guy to hang out with,’’ Harrington said. “He’s got the right attitude for the game. He seems to have the right balance, and he’s a fighter, which is really what you want. I see a very bright future for him.

“He believes it’s coming around the corner for him. He needs to stay patient. A win is there. He’s easily got the game and he’s easily got the ability, the spirit to do it.’’
The 44-year-old Harrington’s affinity for Berger, who is exactly half his age, is something new to the Irishman, whose competitiveness on the course always has belied his affability off of it.

“Where I have a good bond with Daniel now, it’s more because I mellowed myself and I’m a little bit more relaxed about who my competitors are,’’ Harrington said. “Twenty years ago, it would have been a bit more dog-eat-dog at that stage. When I was 25 years of age, everybody was my competitor. Now I’ve mellowed out quite a lot and I’d be quite happy to give advice to the young guys on the Tour.’’

Harrington won a year ago by hanging around and making a big run at the end of his final round with five back-nine birdies to get into the playoff with Berger, who began the day nine shots out of the lead and shot 64.

Had Berger won, it would have been the second-largest final round comeback in PGA Tour history. Though Berger still is seeking his first career win, he played well enough last season to be named the PGA Tour’s Rookie of the Year.

Harrington begins this week ranked 130th in the world, Berger No. 55, making for more expectations of a Berger win this week than a Harrington repeat.

“It is obviously always interesting coming back as a defending champion … puts a little bit more pressure and stress on the week,’’ Harrington said. “It’s like coming to a major. There’s lots of things going on.’’

The many things going on in Harrington’s head always have presented the biggest challenge for him. Like when he nearly lost the tournament with a double bogey on the par-3 17th last year because he felt like he eased off the accelerator.

“I don’t think I’ve ever made it easy for myself, ever, in my entire life,’’ Harrington said with a laugh. “I tend to have a little bit of an issue with having a lead in terms of, I relax a little bit at times and get a bit defensive. In all my tournaments, all of them, I would have done something similar. I like a bit of adversity. I seem to bring it on myself.

“I’m very good in that situation. When I mess up, I actually get better. Sometimes when things are going swimmingly well, I get a little bit defensive. Always have been. I’ve spent years working with [sports psychologist] Bob Rotella trying to figure out how to not to get defensive when I get ahead. You know, that’s just the person I am and I don’t seem to be able to change it.

“I keep trying to change it and it doesn’t change. That’s the fascinating thing. It’s amazing how much you try and change who you are, but ultimately, you kind of stick with it for better or for worse.’’