MLB

Mark Teixeira wants to stay with Yankees for a long time

TAMPA — Mark Teixeira’s preference is to remain a Yankee beyond this coming season. However, if he isn’t wanted in The Bronx, the switch-hitting first baseman won’t retire.

In fact, Teixeira believes the end of a very productive career is nowhere on the horizon.

“I would love to play until I am 40,’’ said Teixeira, who will turn 36 early next month. “If you asked me that when I was coming off wrist surgery, I was pretty honest with you guys, I felt like crap the entire year, 2014. I didn’t know what the future held for me. I have completely turned that around. My body feels good. Why not play until I am 40? Being the kind of hitter I am, I could be a DH the last few years of my career. I would love to play that long.’’

Teixeira was among many Yankees regulars to check into George M. Steinbrenner Field on Wednesday. Alex Rodriguez, Brett Gardner and Jacoby Ellsbury were the new arrivals. Chase Headley, Starlin Castro, Didi Gregorius and Carlos Beltran were working out at the minor league complex. Thursday is the first full-squad workout.

With the Yankees’ quest to get younger and less expensive and having Greg Bird hopefully fully recovered from shoulder surgery next year, Teixeira returning to The Bronx for a ninth season is a long shot at this point.

Still, Teixeira is holding out hope he doesn’t have to move when his eight-year, $180 million contract expires following this season. He will make $22.5 million this coming season.

“Absolutely. That’s the easiest question you can ask me,’’ Teixeira said when asked about remaining a Yankee. “I would love to stay here, but we will see what happens. It’s a little weird: The seven years have gone by in an instant. It’s amazing how quickly it’s gone by. For me to be in a productive position and help our team win maybe in my last year is all you can ask for.’’

Had Teixeira not missed basically the final six weeks of the season with a fractured right lower leg, the Yankees might have won the AL East and participated in a playoff series for the first time since 2012. Instead, they lost, 3-0, to the Astros in the wild-card game.

Teixeira, who hit .255 with 31 homers, 79 RBIs and a .905 OPS in 111 games a year ago, said he is running 100 percent, still sticking to a gluten-free diet, looking forward to productive seasons from Rodriguez, Beltran and himself and glad to have Aroldis Chapman in the Yankees bullpen.

“No issues at all,’’ Teixeira said of the leg, which started running on again in November.

When Joe Girardi was informed of Teixeira’s desire to continue far beyond this season, he was pleased.

“I think it’s great for players to play as long as they want to and they feel they can be successful,’’ Girardi said. “Obviously he feels good about where he is physically or I don’t think he would say that.’’

Teixeira wasn’t the only Yankee to suffer a late-season injury. Starter Nathan Eovaldi missed the final three weeks due to right elbow inflammation. Masahiro Tanaka battled a hamstring problem down the stretch and had a bone spur in his right elbow.

Though Teixeira said his injury wasn’t the lone reason the Yankees faded in September, Girardi understood the impact of losing a big bat.

“I think you could argue that,’’ Girardi said when asked if Teixeira’s broken leg hurt the most. “Because I thought we became really susceptible to left-handers when we lost him.’’

Barring an unforeseen event when the Yankees’ 2016 season ends, they will lose Teixeira for good.