Fashion & Beauty

Wendy Williams turned down ‘Fashion Police’

Wendy Williams could have been a cop on E!’s “Fashion Police,” but she had no interest in building up those cross-country frequent flier miles.

“Melissa [Rivers] had asked me about ‘Fashion Police,’ personally,” Williams told The Post. “But the problem is we’re live out of New York. I can’t be flying back and forth [to Los Angeles]. I don’t want phlebitis or spider veins. I have enough going on. Too much flying. I couldn’t do it.”

But Williams, who says the late Joan Rivers was the only one who believed in her when she launched “The Wendy Williams Show” in 2008, will debut her own red-carpet fashion panel Tuesday night to dish and diss on award-show style.

The newly svelte Jersey girl is helming “Wendy’s Style Squad,” Tuesday at 9 p.m. on BET, and will be joined by fashion personalities Robert Verdi, Bevy Smith and Lloyd Boston for five more episodes throughout awards season.

“We’ll criticize, I mean, talk. I mean, we’ll have a moment speaking lovingly about celebrities,” she jokes, adding that she won’t hold back despite a kinder, gentler tone in the style arena.

“Because social media has become everyone’s outlet, everyone is a reporter now. Everyone is a critic. Everyone has a voice and it depends on how loud you beat that drum,” she said. “I love fashion, but I also have an opinion. It’s not Joan, but, you know, there will never be another Joan.”

And if she gets flak for being too tough on celebs?

“Bring it,” she says without cracking a smile.