NBA

Somehow, NBA’s most dominant force has been forgotten

TORONTO — This is the Kobe Bryant All-Star Game and Traveling Media Circus. No denying that.

And how about Steph Curry? He can shoot the lights out blindfolded. If he continues, will the Warriors topple the record of 72 victories set by the 1995-96 Bulls?

Oh, one last question: When was the last time LeBron James was in attendance anywhere and was not the center of everyone’s universe?

“First of all, it’s bittersweet that this is Kobe’s last All-Star Game,” James said Saturday following the Eastern Conference All-Star practice. “I remember when I was a youngster, 10th or 11th grade, watching [Michael Jordan’s] last All-Star Game, so it kind of has that same feeling.

“We have some of the great athletes in our game, it’s never one guy that carries the whole load.”

For so long, James was looked at as the guy the media types wanted to do much of the NBA’s heavy lifting. At times, his shoes and his workout regimens were treated with the same breathless anxiety as his next free agency decision. He was asked if he sometimes felt taken for granted.

“I hope not because I give a lot to the game,” James said. “My craft and what I dedicate to the game on a daily basis, I hope I’m not taken for granted. I put so much into what not only what I want to do out there but for my teammates, for my fans. So I hope I’m appreciated for what I do.”

It’s not like he ever is ignored, but James was front and center again Saturday after a reported potential three-team trade involving his Cavaliers, Knick Carmelo Anthony and the Celtics.

“It’s false,” James said. “And that’s the last thing I was kind of worrying about right now: trade talks.”

James tries to defend Curry earlier this season.Getty Images

So James, who on Sunday will become the sixth player to start 12 All-Star Games, has to worry about getting back to the Finals for the universally anticipated Warriors-Cavs rematch. But James cautioned about the Eastern Conference landscape, which has more potholes and minefields this season.

“It’s great to see that our conference, we have [nine] teams playing above .500 ball,” said James, whose Cavs (38-14) hold the East’s best record. “The talent and coaching, it’s coming all together. It’s been a while that we had so many teams playing like this [in the East]. It’s not just Toronto being a threat, it’s a lot of teams that can be a threat.”

Threats lurk everywhere. But let’s talk about that trade, false or not. As reported, it could place Anthony by James’ side in Cleveland. As of now, with him in New York, Anthony and playoffs are destined to be a non-match for a third straight year. James sympathizes.

“I mean, I feel for any one of my friends,” James said. “Obviously it’s been well-documented that Carmelo, Dwyane [Wade] and Chris Paul are my three best guys that we have around this league. I felt for CP last year in the postseason. I felt for D-Wade throughout the injuries that he’s had. And then last year having a rough season and not making the playoffs, I feel for Melo. When anything happens with those guys, it’s all reciprocated through the four of us, so I want the best and the highest success for all three of them.”

Still, James has other concerns. He talked of the Cavs’ faster pace under recently anointed coach Tyronn Lue. Conditioning and health are critical — James is not exactly thrilled by an All-Star break that provides seven off days. James saw devastating injury effects last season. The Cavs lost Kevin Love early in the playoffs and lost Kyrie Irving early in the Finals. Then they lost the Finals. The Warriors are favored to return and James sees why — beyond Curry’s killer shot.

“Consistency and no complacency,” James said. “They’ve used last year to take them to another height. Obviously, with Steph and Draymond [Green] and Klay [Thompson], they spearhead the whole thing. But everybody else falls into place … [reserves] fall into place. They know their roles. They know what they need to do out there every single night and they play their roles individually how they should play and they don’t step outside their boxes. That’s what makes them so good.”