MLB

How Andrew Miller is handling no longer being Yankees closer

Andrew Miller is ready to hand the title “Yankees closer” to Aroldis Chapman for a more undefined bullpen role. But the switch won’t exactly mean uncharted territory for the veteran lefty.

“It wasn’t that long go that I did long-guy one day and I’d get an out in a tie game in the eighth inning the next day,” Miller said Tuesday at the Grand Hyatt, where the annual Thurman Munson dinner was held to benefit the AHRC New York City Foundation. “So it’s hard for me to say I’m used to something or I’ve got a routine that I have to use to get by.”

Miller did his part last season, going 3-2 with a 2.04 ERA and 36 saves in 60 appearances for the Yankees, but the acquisition of the electrifying Chapman in a trade with the Reds will mean shifting to a setup role.

Dellin Betances will team with Miller and Chapman to give the Yankees potentially the most dominant bullpen in baseball.

“Hopefully it helps us win more games,” Miller said. “I think Justin Wilson was pretty good last year, too. Whoever was called upon kind of filled in, but Chapman is a special arm and if it helps us win games, helps us get to the goal, it’s a good thing.”

Chapman is facing a possible suspension to start the season, following allegations of domestic abuse, but Miller wasn’t about to speculate about the possibility of filling the closer’s role to begin the year.

Last season, Betances was moved from the closer’s role after Miller arrived on a four-year deal worth $36 million.

“I will show up and be ready to pitch in whatever role they ask,” Miller said. “As I’ve told Joe [Girardi] all along, Dellin has shown he can do that. Dellin, he slipped in and he seamlessly filled the ninth inning and he can pitch the seventh. The way he handled it, if I can handle it as gracefully as he did last year I think we’ll be good and if we can get the ball to him with the lead we’re in good shape.”

Miller said it made sense to add another big arm to the bullpen.

“It certainly seems like the move everybody wants to make now,” he said. “Everybody talks about the Royals, but it seems like all the good teams lately have had bullpens, whether they’re stars or whether it’s a lockdown group, that’s a goal everybody is shooting for now. It seems like it helps teams win in these close games, and I’m not surprised.”


Jeurys Familia, who also received a Munson award, indicated his three blown saves for the Mets in last year’s World Series are something he’s buried in his memory.

“I think [the World Series] affected me in a very positive way,” Familia said. “Just, so early on in my career, to have that experience, I feel like it has prepared me and I’m really appreciative for it.”