MLB

Beltran: Collins ‘great manager’ who went against Harvey instinct

Carlos Beltran played just 98 games for Terry Collins’ 2011 Mets, but four years after leaving Queens, the borderline Hall of Fame candidate felt in his gut the manager wanted to turn the ninth inning of Game 5 of last year’s World Series against the Royals over to closer Jeurys Familia.

Instead, Matt Harvey went out for the fateful ninth inning and the Series soon ended.

Watching Collins, Beltran got the feeling the manager wanted to use Familia for the final three outs.

“He was looking down and I felt that in his mind he wanted to take [Harvey] out,’’ Beltran said Wednesday at a Topps product-launch event in lower Manhattan. “But at the same time, Harvey was pitching such a good game and Harvey wanted that moment. He went with what Harvey showed him and not what he was thinking. That’s an experience for him. Later on [taking Harvey out] will happen. He will say, ‘My friend, I will give you a kiss if I have to, but I have to get my closer.’ It was a bad decision to leave him in, but in his heart I felt that he wanted to make a different move.’’

Beltran enjoyed those games he played for Collins before being dealt to the Giants for right-hander Zack Wheeler in late July of that season.

“I was very happy for Terry Collins. When I had him as a manager, he was a great manager,’’ said Beltran, batted .298 with 15 homers and 66 RBIs in 98 games for the 2011 Mets. “When I first heard he was going to come to the Mets, you heard a lot of bad things about Terry Collins and his previous experience when he managed the Astros and Anaheim. When I first got him as a manager he was the best manager I ever had in my career.

‘He communicates, is very intense and that is what you look for in a manager. I am very happy he had the opportunity to experience the World Series.’’

Walking off a Florida golf course Wednesday afternoon, Collins savored Beltran’s flattering words.

“It means a lot, you are talking about one of the stars of the game,’’ Collins told The Post. “When you get a compliment like that from one of the stars of the games it is special. From the start we made sure to be on the same page and he helped me out a lot. He helped make it easier on me. When the stars are on your side in the clubhouse it makes it easier.’’

Before playing for Collins, Beltran was managed by Tony Muser, Tony Pena, John Mizerock, Phil Garner, Willie Randolph and Jerry Manuel. Since leaving Queens, Beltran has worked for Bruce Bochy, Mike Matheny and Joe Girardi.

Beltran, 39 in April, is entering the final leg of a three-year deal worth $45 million and is unsure if 2016 will be the end for him.

As for the Yankees, who haven’t played in a postseason series since 2012, Beltran has the same optimistic outlook every other major league player harbors in the middle of February.

He likes the addition of Aroldis Chapman to the bullpen and believes Starlin Castro will impress at second base. While his days as an eight-time All-Star outfielder are gone, Beltran did bat .292 with 12 homers, 37 RBIs and an OPS of .877 in the second half of last year.

Though Beltran still considers himself an outfielder, should Alex Rodriguez suffer an injury or fail to produce as the DH, the switch-hitting Beltran would be the likely replacement.

“I enjoy being the DH once in a while. I can take it, but it really doesn’t excite me to be an everyday DH,’’ Beltran said. “The outfield is something I enjoy. Let’s hope Alex stays healthy and [has] another year like he did last year.’’