Golf

The boos that show just how unpopular Bubba Watson is

Bubba Watson’s sometimes sulky attitude has long left him one of golf’s most unpopular players. 

That continued this week at the Waste Management Open, where the two-time Masters champ whined about the course in the days leading up to the event.

“I don’t like it,” Watson said Wednesday of the Scottsdale, Arizona, course. “I’m not going to PC it. I don’t like it at all … Obviously, I’m here because of my sponsors and everything. I love coming here. It’s always great weather. Used to have a house here. It’s always beautiful coming here and playing here.”

The problem for Watson is the Arizona crowds are among the rowdiest on the PGA Tour and they lived up to that reputation on Thursday when he reached the par-3 16th and was booed raucously.

If only he were as popular or precise as another competitor.

What can't you see at the 16th hole? The limit does not exist. 🤖

A video posted by PGA TOUR (@pgatour) on