NBA

Nets’ bench responds on the court after coach’s blowup

NEW ORLEANS — There are precious few positives to be taken from losing a 105-103 heartbreaker at the buzzer like the Nets did on Saturday. But the struggling bench finally coming up with a passable performance has to pass for one.

“I thought our focus was better. We got great contributions from [Shane] Larkin and [Thomas] Robinson off the bench. That’s how I would like to play,’’ interim coach Tony Brown said. “I hope they enjoyed it. I know they don’t enjoy losing, but I liked the way we played and I hope they enjoyed playing.’’

Larkin had 13 points and six assists, while Robinson had eight points, eight boards and a highlight-reel dunk, dribbling from half court and throwing down a two-handed slam all over Dante Cunningham.

It’s a far cry from Friday, when the bench was outscored 34-2 in Dallas, and Brown had to give them a tongue-lashing.

“They know. I don’t harp on it every night, but [Friday] night, I felt I had to say something to them to let them know that I’m looking for something,’’ Brown said. “And don’t get comfortable if you think you’re just going to consistently get your minutes, that’s not going to happen. I’ll make some changes, go somewhere else. But it has to be stated. It’s obvious.’’

Larkin admitted the lecture was warranted.

“[Friday] we scored two points off the bench,’’ Larkin told The Post. “That’s terrible. We’ve got to do better. That’s as clear a message as he could give.’’

“I don’t even think he needed to say something, everybody on the bench felt we let the team down. We’ve got to be better than that. That was terrible that we did what we did [Friday]. That’s unacceptable. We can’t win games when the bench doesn’t give us anything. We’ve got to go be better.”

The bad news? They allowed 26 to Jrue Holiday and 24 to Ryan Anderson, both off the bench.


Brook Lopez had a season-high 33 points, including 20 points in the second half. It marked his most points scored in any half this season.

He joined Anthony Davis as the only players this season to record 30 points, 10 rebounds, three blocks and three steals in the same game.


Markel Brown took an elbow to the face from Anderson, and Lopez appeared to get poked in the eye by a ref. Both were fine.


The Pelicans wore Mardi Gras-themed uniforms.