Metro

Man accused of killing parents calls murder ‘the last solution’

A Queens man on trial in the murders of both his parents — 15 months apart — testified in his own defense Wednesday, telling jurors that his mother’s death was an “unfortunate accident” and claiming that his sister murdered their dad.

“In August 2012, you said to law enforcement: ‘I would kill the f–king b–ch if I had the chance’?” prosecutor Jared Rosenblatt cross-examined Gregory Cucchiara, who is acting as his own lawyer in the Queens double murder trial.

“Yes, my father was killed by my sister,” Cucchiara replied.

The 39-year-old is accused of beating and drowning his mom, Josephine, in May 2011, then asphyxiating his father, Carmelo, with a pillow in August 2012. Police found Cucchiara’s DNA under both of his parents’ fingernails.

In court, Rosenblatt said Gregory Cucchiara was “mad” and knew his sister wouldn’t be home on Aug. 20, 2012, the day of the alleged murder, because she’d taken a trip to Canada.

“You’re taking a pea and making a vine,” Cucchiara bizarrely responded.

As for his mom, he told the court, “Her death was an unfortunate accident. I blame myself for her death.

Josephine and Carmelo Cucchiara were allegedly killed by their son, Gregory.

“My father was murdered,” he added.

Rosenblatt then asked, “You know that murder is wrong?” to which Cucchiara offered a disturbing response: “Murder is always the last solution.”

Josephine Cucchiara was found dead in a bathtub in the family’s Bayside mansion on May 25, 2011. While Gregory continued to live in the house, Carmelo moved in with his daughter, after telling family members he was afraid of his son. He was found dead on Aug. 21, 2012.

On Wednesday, Gregory Cucchiara said that the day before his dad’s death, he was supposed to meet with his father, but he never showed up.

“I was upset, I don’t know about anger,” he said.

The day of the alleged murder, he was attacked by three people who’d been “tracking him,” he told the court.

Gregory Cuccchiara’s family leaves his arraignment in 2012.Ellis Kaplan

“I got punched,” Cucchiara said. “He had a ring and there were abrasions on my face.”

During redirect, he complained, “I feel victimized. With recollections to date I have never been good with that, so if it looks like I lied, I’m sorry about that.”

As Cucchiara stepped off the stand, he glared at his family members, including his sister, who were sitting in the courtroom.