NFL

Key Broncos cog still hurting but likely to play vs. Patriots

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — In the aftermath of the Broncos’ divisional playoff win over the Steelers last weekend, Denver cornerback Chris Harris conceded he played essentially with one arm because of his injured left shoulder.

Harris has practiced fully all week, though Broncos coach Gary Kubiak on Thursday left the door ajar for him not to play, saying, “We’ll see how he feels on game day.’’

“But everything he’s done up to this point he’s been able to participate in fully,’’ Kubiak added. “I think he’s making great progress, so we’ll see.’’

Asked what it would take for him not to play Sunday, Harris said, “Not being able to be anywhere [near] 60 percent.’’

“If I could go out there and feel like I could get my job done, I’m definitely going to go out there and play.’’

If Harris cannot play or is limited, his replacement, Bradley Roby, would step in. It was Roby’s forced fumble against the Steelers that set up the Denver win.

“Bradley has played real well for us,’’ Kubiak said. “He’s not listed as a starter when you look at our base defense, but if you look at what we really play when it’s all said and done, I’d say Bradley’s been a starter all year.”

Harris said he’s “light years better’’ than he was last week at this time.

“I’m feeling more comfortable putting hands on [players] and holding them and having them break away from me,’’ he said. “I’m gaining that confidence. As long as there are no setbacks I should be good to go.’’

Harris missed the last Broncos’ AFC Championship game two years ago with a knee injury.

“This game means so much to me because I didn’t get to play in the game last time,’’ he said. “I remember being on the sideline watching that game. Even though we won, it still hurt not being able to contribute.’’


Aqib Talib, the Broncos other starting cornerback, played the 2013 season with the Patriots team that lost to the Broncos in the AFC Championship game. Asked Thursday if he felt like he missed out on anything last year when the Patriots won the Super Bowl without him, he said, “Nope.’’

He joked about Patriots colorful tight end Rob Gronkowski, calling him, “a character.’’

“He’s one of the funniest dudes,’’ Talib said. “I used to go over to his house and chill with him. He’s a good guy — exactly how he is on commercials is how he is in real life. He’s funny.’’

Asked about the early-week barbs tweeted between some Denver players and Gronkowski about low tackles on his knees, Talib said, “I’ve not seen it. That’s why I stay off the social network. Any social network with me on there is fake. I don’t do the social networks.’’


Broncos safety T.J. Ward, who blew out Gronkowski’s knee in 2013 with a low tackle when he was playing for the Browns, was aksed if he hates the Patriots.

“Do I hate the Patriots? No, I dislike the Patriots,’’ he said. “Hate is a strong word.’’