Metro

Muslim man attacked by thugs shouting ‘ISIS’ has no idea who ISIS is

A Muslim man beaten up by two thugs who accused him of being a member of ISIS said Sunday he had no idea who the terror group was before he was attacked.

“They said ‘ISIS! ISIS!’ I never heard of ISIS before this attack,” said Bangladeshi native Mujibur Rahman.

Rahman, 43, said he was just trying to walk his 9-year-old niece home from her Bronx school, PS 119, when the hateful masked brutes jumped him around 5:30 p.m. Friday.

“As I came out from the school, two people approached me,” Rahman told The Post while recovering at his Parkchester apartment after being released from Jacobi Hospital on Saturday.

Rahman, who has lived in the US for about one year, said the men proceeded to pummel him in front of his crying niece, Eimaahmed Ahmed.

“All of a sudden, they came from behind and started to hit me,” Rahman said. “They punched me in my face, head, and shoulder.”

“I fell on the ground, and blood was pouring out from my nose and mouth.”

Rahman said he lost consciousness and was left bleeding in the middle of the sidewalk.

Some good Samaritans who witnessed the beating ran over to help the injured man and called police.

“They said ‘ISIS! ISIS!’ I never heard of ISIS before this attack,” said Bangladeshi native Mujibur Rahman.”[/pullquote]

Rahman, who was wearing traditional Islamic garb at the time, said it’s clear that the two thugs targeted him because of his religion.

“I was dressed like a Muslim,” he said. “That’s why I was attacked. This has never happened before. I hope and wish this doesn’t happen in the future to anyone else.”

Rahman said the ordeal has left his niece too terrified to go back to school.

“My niece was scared by seeing me fall on the floor and bleeding,” he said. “My niece is shaking and scared to go back to school. She doesn’t know what ISIS is.”

The incident is being investigated by the NYPD’s Hate Crimes Task Force. No arrests have been made.