NBA

Calderon back in good graces of Knicks fans … for a night

When point guard Jose Calderon and Carmelo Anthony were taken out by coach Derek Fisher in the final minutes of the Knicks’ victory over the Bucks on Sunday night, the Garden crowd gave a huge ovation to the duo.

It truly seemed the cheers weren’t just for the Knicks superstar, but their oft-critiqued point guard who had a chance to shock the NBA world Friday night if he made buzzer-beating 3-pointer in San Antonio.

Calderon didn’t make it, but he responded with a sound performance in the Knicks’ 100-88 blowout of the Bucks. Calderon notched nine points, seven assists, two steals and four rebounds, and was a phenomenal plus-34 while defending Michael Carter-Williams into a 1-for-8 night.

Calderon had made a cryptic remark following Friday’s one-point loss after his 3-pointer bounced off the rim.

“Everybody’s going to want me out of New York because I missed the shot,’’ Calderon said.

When asked about Sunday’s ovation, Calderon said, “It was for Melo. I [was] just behind him. I said thank you anyway.’’

Are the fans starting to appreciate him more?

“This is me,’’ Calderon said. “As a player and a person, I try to do my best every night. Some nights it works better than others. I know guys want a 30-point point guard, but that’s not me.’’

Calderon admitted the San Antonio loss was “in the back of my mind.’’ His season has gone a lot better after a terrible November. Some fans have been slow to catch on. His role is different in a triangle offense. It’s moving the ball, making cuts, orchestrating proper spacing. And he’s doing the right things and staying healthy — unlike last season’s lingering calf issues.

“Jose’s doing his job,’’ Fisher said. “I definitely can relate to his experiences being in a system as the lead guard who isn’t asked to do the same things point guards on other are asked to do and it may look like you’re not as capable at doing things on certain nights. That’s frustrating because you know you’re asked to do more if asked. The equalizer is winning. That’s what shuts people up. If you lead you’re team to victory and score 2 points that ultimately works the best.’’


Derek Fisher, reacting to Lionel Hollins’ firing, said of his own job security: “There is no such thing as feeling comfortable in this business. You shouldn’t be comfortable, honestly. My dad told me a long time ago if you’re feeling comfortable someone else is passing you by. I’ve always held on to that. Working hard at what I do will never get the reason why something doesn’t work out. When things change, they change. Otherwise I’m here. I’m committed.’’


Bucks interim coach Joe Prunty said Anthony’s 3.6 assist rate is not the barometer on how well he’s moving the ball this season, especially late in games.

“He’s such a tough cover and he’s been showing leadership characteristics,’’ Prunty said. “I don’t think it’s new. The first thing is looking at his stat sheet — what was his scoring and shooting [percentage]. But he’s also a guy that causes problems. He may pass the ball, but may not get the assist. He may kick it out and someone else may get the assist from the problem he caused. People say he’s not a good passer. That’s not an accurate statement. He does a lot.’’