MLB

Ruben Tejada on Chase Utley takeout: It was a dirty slide

Ruben Tejada left no doubt about what he thought of Chase Utley’s takeout slide that ended his season during Game 2 of the NLDS in Los Angeles, agreeing with the Mets masses that the play was dirty.

“It’s not professional here at this level to play like that,” Tejada said of the Oct. 10 play that left Tejada with a fractured right leg. “I [caught] the ball on the other side [of the base] and he came to me right away. He never touched the bag. If he touched the bag and then hit me or something like that, it’s different.”

Utley was suspended for Games 3 and 4 by MLB Chief Baseball Officer Joe Torre, but appealed the penalty and was eligible for the rest of the series.

Tejada’s biggest solace comes in the success the Mets have had since it happened.

Asked if he was still mad, Tejada replied: “No. I’m really happy because we’re here and he’s at home.”

Tejada didn’t make much of Utley’s message of apology sent through David Wright, either.

“He sent a message to David, but I never answered because I don’t want to,” Tejada said. “It’s tough for me.”

Tejada later said he accepted Utley’s apology, though he said he couldn’t remember what Utley said.

“I did [accept it] because I’m a really good person,” Tejada said. “I can’t do anything. He knows what he did. He’ll have to do something to figure out how to play the game the right way.”

Tejada was in the dugout before Game 4 of the World Series against the Royals at Citi Field with a walking boot still on his right leg, holding onto the Mets cane the Wilpons gave him.

The injured shortstop agreed the play was “dirty” when asked directly.

“Yeah, because when you play the middle infield and there’s a play like that, you should come to the bag hard,” Tejada said. “I don’t want to say anything to him because he knows what he did.”

He’s gone back and watched the replay of the incident that created controversy across the sport and his thoughts haven’t changed.

“I know he’s coming in hard, so that’s why I tried to jump as soon as I caught the ball, but I don’t have the chance,” Tejada said. “He hit me and I can’t do anything with that.”

Tejada knew immediately he was hurt. And he said the fact it was done by a fellow middle infielder makes it even worse.

“It’s different when he plays that position and he does it,” Tejada said.

The Post’s Joel Sherman reported Utley intends to return to play next season. So what would Tejada say if he sees Utley next season?

“Nothing,” Tejada said. “Good luck.”

Despite his disappointment at not being able to play during this postseason run, he’s still enjoying being a part of it, watching from home and talking with his replacement at shortstop, Wilmer Flores, after every game.

“I’m happy we’re here in this position and I’m helping the team, no matter what,” Tejada said.