NFL

Giants rookie trying to not ‘over-think’ the camp process

Each week throughout training camp, Giants rookie wide receiver Geremy Davis will be keeping a diary for The Post, sharing his experiences and observations as he prepares for the regular season and bids to be part of the 2015 Giants. As told to Paul Schwartz.

Playing against the Jets, just to see guys like Antonio Cromartie and Darrelle Revis, it was just very exciting seeing what those guys can do, being in the league so long, how they’re established. I didn’t get to go against them, but I still watched those guys, studied them throughout the week. You never know if I’d get one or two plays against them. Those are two elite corners, two strong guys. They’re both very talented, athletic, Pro Bowlers so if I had the opportunity to go in there against them I wanted to make sure I was ready for them, because you can’t take those guys lightly, at all.

On special teams, I had a tackle on a kickoff, which I was happy about. I almost blocked a punt. Offensively, I had two catches on a scoring drive, I think I blocked pretty well, did my assignments well.

I have some things to work on from a special-teams standpoint. As a contain player on kickoff you’re not supposed to let the person get outside, I kind of just over-thought the process. I did something I wasn’t supposed to do and the guy bounced outside. I have to just play football from that aspect, go make the tackle.

It was cool because Mark Herzlich came over to me and said ‘Don’t over-think it, man.’ He showed me some techniques, he made me feel better about it.

I know the first cut is coming. I’m just having faith in the process and just waiting for the day, I’m not gonna over-think it. I’m a man of faith and I’m just living by that. I believe I’ve done some good things, I’ve worked my butt off, try to better myself as a player and be coachable and show those things on the practice field and the game to show I’m a coachable player and do what they ask.

Training camp is over, but I’m staying in the hotel. It’s not too bad. A lot of the guys who have homes here, they get out of there, be with their wives and kids, which I don’t blame them, got to spend time with your family. As far as apartments, I’ve gotten some ideas from some teammates, their take on it. You still don’t have an idea but God-willing I’ll be prepared when that happens, you don’t want to be just kinda lost and last-minute.

My body feels good, especially after the huge recovery session last Thursday … some yoga, I feel really good. It was by seniority, if I could have got a massage I would have got one but those guys who have been here nine, 10 years they got first pick. I just got to wait my time for that.

You want your players feeling good and feeling the best they can to play to the best of their abilities. It’s good coach Coughlin is incorporating that aspect so we can get that recovery and come out feeling the best that we can.

I definitely can’t afford to miss any practices. Being a professional, this being your job — and not to say people who get hurt don’t do this — but you got to go in there, cold tub, hot tub, stretch, foam roll, massage, you have to do those things on a consistent basis so your body can feel good and be healthy. From a diet standpoint, the way you eat. And not to say people who get hurt they don’t do that, but you have to really harp on that even more, being in the league, because you have to be on the field to get better, you have to be on the field to contribute to your team.

You can only get better if you’re performing on the field.