Sex & Relationships

This week’s couple: Work night

Dating takes work. We all know this, and yet, the best dates are the ones that don’t feel like work at all and the worst dates usually feel like we’re waiting to clock out of them.

The latter was the case for Mike and Rebecca, both 31, when they met at the Soho eatery Delicatessen.

As soon as the two got together, they realized they had little in common, and keeping the conversation going was a bit of a challenge. Find out why their date was a labor of love — but not for one another.

He said

Rebecca was wearing a bright turquoise skirt, which let me know she wasn’t my type. I like someone with more understated style, but I wanted to keep an open mind because, who knows, right?

She did most of the talking and I had the sense we live very different lives. I do a lot of traveling and enjoy the city lifestyle. Rebecca seems more comfortable around her hometown.

We had a nice corner booth at Delicatessen, and our server was attentive. The cheeseburger spring rolls are worth getting. I’d go back.

As for Rebecca, I don’t plan on seeing her again. I’ve had some dates in the past where I just wanted to run out of there instantly, but this one wasn’t that bad. We had an enjoyable dinner, but absolutely nothing in common.

She said

When I first met Mike, I thought he was a good-looking guy. His eyes look brown at first, but when I got a better look I saw they’re actually a nice dark blue. He was also polite and seemed to keep himself in good shape.

I tried to do a lot of the question-asking because I tend to ramble. He has traveled a lot, and it was nice to hear about all the places he’s been that I haven’t. But I’m not really sure we had all that much in common.

Delicatessen was nice and the food was good. One thing that I didn’t like: Mike ate our spring rolls with [his] hands. I am old school and was taught to use a fork and knife for everything.

Overall, the date wasn’t terrible, but we didn’t exchange numbers, which is fine. We had a good time.