NBA

Knicks, Phil Jackson could trade down for one of these 2 players

Wisconsin senior center Frank Kaminsky knew the triangle offense before Phil Jackson showed it to him last week and freshman Trey Lyles performed at a Kentucky practice in March like he already would be great for it.

Kaminsky, the NCAA Player of the Year, and Lyles worked out together last week at Tarrytown for the Knicks and are the likeliest big men the Knicks would select — if they trade down from the fourth pick into the range of the 10th pick.

Jackson sat with the senior and the freshman, who squared off in the NCAA Tournament semifinals, and showed the duo footage of the triangle offense last week.

“I’ve watched it before we had the film session,’’ Kaminsky said. “I know a bunch about it. It definitely makes sense for a player like me. I had film on it. I’d been watching a lot of film on a lot of different players. I saw Pau Gasol working the triangle offense. I try to take things away from that and use it in my game.’’

That sort of dedication has Jackson intrigued at selecting Kaminsky higher than most mock drafts project him. Kentucky coach John Calipari also revealed last week Jackson went to Lexington, Ky., and came out of the gym mumbling Lyles would be a good triangle fit because he’s a 6-foot-10 guy who can shoot 3’s.

“It’s an offense that runs through the 4 and gives freedom to all the players,’’ Lyles said. “It’s good. I think I’ll be able to fit into that.’’

The one-and-done Lyles is soft-spoken and almost an afterthought on the Wildcats superteam that saw its unbeaten season ruined by Kaminsky’s Badgers.

“I played at Kentucky, and that’s the biggest college in the nation basketball-wise, so it wouldn’t faze me any,” Lyles said of playing in the Big Apple.

Kaminsky wouldn’t have traveled from his Santa Barbara training facility to New York for a workout if he didn’t think the Knicks were serious.

“It’s an opportunity to play,’’ Kaminsky said. “Obviously playing in the triangle offense with Phil and Derek [Fisher], that’s great. It’s a big market. They got a lot of fan support. If they’re willing to draft me, I wouldn’t say no.’’

Jackson said it was an asset Kaminsky stayed for four years of college, though his draft stock doesn’t seem as high as it should.

“People who go to college have to grow up and find their way,’’ Kaminsky said. “It’s not easy to make it four years and maintain a level of success where you get better and better every year. I was able to do that and grow as a person and player. I saw how last year went for me. I came up short of one goal actually. I wouldn’t trade my journey to where I am now for anything.’’