Boxing

Meet the cocky Brit who could be Mayweather’s final challenge

Forty-eight fights have come and gone, and each time, Floyd Mayweather Jr. has come out on top.

Now, with potentially only one fight remaining before retirement, a final challenger has emerged — and he’s not backing down one iota.

British welterweight Amir Khan said Mayweather’s manager, Leonard Ellerbe, approached him after Saturday’s Mayweather-Manny Pacquiao fight. The 38-year-old Mayweather has said that he wants one more fight in September before he retires.

“I think Mayweather’s [team] wants the fight,” Khan told the BBC.

Khan, whose professional record stands at 30-3, said he can do the previously impossible: Defeat Mayweather.

“I really believe I have Mayweather’s number, and I’m ready for whatever he wants,” Khan said. “I can’t do September because of Ramadan. It just depends on my schedule this year, but if we can do this year or early next year, I will definitely jump to it.”

Khan’s next fight is scheduled for Barclays Center in Brooklyn, against Chris Algieri on May 29.